ebookclassics

2015 Book Blogger Discussion Challenge – Do you ever envy other bloggers?

2015-Discussion-Challenge3

en•vee – a feeling of discontent or covetousness with regard to another’s advantages, success, possessions, etc.

Do you ever envy other bloggers? Do you compare your blog to other blogs?

Ever since I started blogging, I’m amazed at the creativity and the vibrant personalities I’ve encountered in our little bookish world. But I have to admit that from time to time a little green monster rears its ugly head in me. My envy can range from how a blogger brilliantly crafts a review to how many people are following them, from their status in the book community to what book mail they share on Twitter. Of course, the comparisons begin and I start to feel less good about what I’ve done with my blog.

Luckily, the more I blog, the more comfortable in my blogging skin I’ve become and I can talk myself off the ledge … or at least take the cursor off the delete post button. I try to turn my feelings into positive energy and let it motivate me to think of what I can do to improve my blog. Or other times, I don’t do anything except let those feelings go because I know my blog is unique and doing just fine.

Do you ever feel blogger envy? Do you compare yourself to other bloggers? I would love to hear your thoughts.

Visit the challenge hosts Feed Your Fiction Addiction and It Starts At Midnight to see this month’s discussion topics for bloggers.

27 comments on “2015 Book Blogger Discussion Challenge – Do you ever envy other bloggers?

  1. janceewright
    August 20, 2015

    For what it’s worth, I think you’re a wonderful blogger!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Paperback Princess
    August 20, 2015

    Oh constantly! I’m never impressed with my own blogging – lord only knows why I insist on writing posts at all! I try and put the little green monster to work though by learning from those I admire. At the end of the day we can only be ourselves.

    And I agree with janceewright, you are a wonderful blogger!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 21, 2015

      Thank you! I like how you said you try to work through your feelings by learning from those you admired. I never looked at it that way.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. lauratfrey
    August 20, 2015

    I do get jealous of who’s getting real book ARCs and stuff. But remind myself that I don’t have time to review the ARCs I do have, so there’s no point lusting over more books. I get jealous of bloggers who have an academic background, as I feel like I will never be able to analyse a book as well as they do.

    I also get jealous of people who write about books and get paid for it! There are some great reviewers, but more so people who write essays and such… I wish I could do that.

    I think “if only I started earlier” or “if only I took English in school” or “if only I spent more time writing” but at the same time, what I’m doing now has value and makes me happy. And maybe one day I can do some or all of those things. Well, not starting earlier 🙂

    Like

    • lauratfrey
      August 20, 2015

      Real “good” ARCs, that is!

      Like

      • ebookclassics
        August 21, 2015

        Ooh, I feel all of these things too and have said many “if only”s to myself as well. I’m self-conscious of the fact I don’t have any academic or professional training in either literature or writing. In my reviews I try not to analyze too deeply and just stick to saying whether I liked the book or not.

        Like

  4. Jenni Elyse (@jenni_elyse)
    August 20, 2015

    Yes. I get blogger envy. I try not to let it take over, though. Otherwise, blogging would be no fun.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 21, 2015

      You’re right! Blogging would be no fun and depressing. Do you think it’s another reason why some people feel a lot of pressure about blogging?

      Like

  5. Everyone lives with a form of envy; some more than others. I guess it’s what you make of it and how you channel that “green with envy” mantra into what you do that counts…? I don’t think it’s a terrible thing to have if you think of it as a measure of something you want to reach (or not–blogging goals are self-identified after all). But maybe that’s just me. If someone’s doing something “different” and it’s working, it’s not a bad thing to take time to examine if that’s an avenue I’d also want to pursue.

    Envy cultivates inspiration for me and I guess that’s what I’m using to better my blogger identity? (This isn’t the case for everyone though.)

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 21, 2015

      I like how you said it you can use envy as a measure of something you want to reach. It goes with trying to turn those not-so-nice feelings into something positive and productive.

      Like

  6. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    August 20, 2015

    I get blogger envy as well, especially when I see how creative and entertaining other bloggers are. And I’m envious of the people who have much more time to read and review than I do. But I usually don’t have time to be too envious for too long, so I can often just talk myself out of the envy and try to be inspired by what I see/read instead.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 21, 2015

      I wish I had more time to read and review too. It’s one of the reasons I decided to write short, quick reviews. Do you ever set blogging goals? I feel like I don’t even have time to do that!

      Like

      • TJ @ MyBookStrings
        August 21, 2015

        I’ve tried, and I also tried having a schedule. But now my only goal is to post at least once a week. Can you have a lower goal than that? 🙂

        Like

  7. Brian Joseph
    August 21, 2015

    This is a great topic.

    I do not feel envy but I very much admire many blogs including your own.

    I see these book blogs as reflections of the bookish sides of our personalities so I really do not desire to be anyone that I am not. However, I really like many of the other personalities that I encounter.

    Like

  8. ebookclassics
    August 21, 2015

    Thank you! I like how you said you just want who you are to be reflected in your blog and I feel the same way. I also enjoy seeing how a blogger’s personality comes through their in posts and reviews. Even those posts when a blogger isn’t feeling so great or having a slump. I think it’s nice we can be genuine with each other.

    Like

  9. ebookclassics
    August 21, 2015

    Hey everyone, I realized I used “envy” and not “jealous” in this discussion topic, and now I’m really confused about which word is right. Aaahhh…

    Like

    • Aj @ Read All The Things!
      August 21, 2015

      Envy is the correct word (I think). Envy is when you want what someone else has. Jealousy is when you’re worried that someone will acquire/take what you have.

      I do get envious of other people’s blog designs. Some bloggers are so talented, and I’m so not talented. Whenever I see a blog I love, I try to figure out why I love it and what the blogger did to make it look so good. That doesn’t help with the envy, but I do learn something from the experience.

      Great discussion!

      Like

      • ebookclassics
        August 24, 2015

        Thanks for clarifying envy and jealous! I also try to figure out what I love about a blog because sometimes there are elements that stand out and I find myself drawn towards, such as a blogger’s writing style.

        Like

  10. Naomi
    August 22, 2015

    Ooh, I love this topic. And, I’m so glad to see I’m not the only one!
    I especially feel envious of people who have more time than I do, and of bloggers who are better at writing and are more entertaining. It helps to remind myself why I started blogging in the first place (for myself) and that we really don’t all want to be like each other anyway, cause that would get kind of boring.
    And, you know, of course, how much I love your blog. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 24, 2015

      Thanks friend! I agree it would be boring if all bloggers were the same and how you remind yourself of why you started blogging in the first place. I feel I need to do this a couple of times of year to ground myself.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Trish
    August 28, 2015

    A very balanced response! I HATE to admit that I’m often plagued with envy, but I am. So silly, isn’t it? We all have our strengths and we should let the bit of envy be admiration with a strive to doing better rather than letting it get ourselves down. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 30, 2015

      It is silly! But it looks like it’s pretty normal from all of these comment. You’re right, we need to just remind ourselves that we all have unique strengths and talents, and we’re trying our best.

      Like

  12. I think it’s almost impossible NOT to have blogger envy sometimes. It’s natural when we see so many awesome things being done around the blogosphere. I think your attitude about it is great, though!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 31, 2015

      Thanks Nicole! It’s true there is so many cool blogs out there, so a little twinge of blogger envy should probably be expected.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

