ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – Michael Fassbender

fassyCelebrities in Classics is a regular feature where I highlight the classic novel adaptations my favourite actors have starred in.

WHO IS IT? I was tempted to make this a McFassy (Fassbender/McAvoy bromance) post, but Michael Fassbender is everywhere right now. From the red-hot MacBeth trailer, Assassin’s Creed and Steve Jobs first-look pics, and news that The Light Between Oceans just wrapped, how can we not have Michael Fassbender on our minds?

WHAT’S SO FASCINATING? In interviews, he loves to joke around and not take himself too seriously which I find incredibly endearing. You can tell from the movie roles he’s tackled that Michael Fassbender isn’t afraid to take risks and get far outside his comfort zone. Many of the characters he’s portrayed are rough around the edges and raw on the inside. He’s been frequently nominated for acting awards winning the British Independent Film Award for Best Actor for his roles in Fish Tank and Shame, as well as the AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actor for 12 Years A Slave.

FIRST ENCOUNTER For the longest time, I never understood the appeal of Mr. Rochester in Jane Eyre. He’s just a grumpy pants, I thought. Then I saw Michael Fassbender as the character and witnessed the bewildering array of emotions and frenzied passion on screen. It was like being hit by a truck and I spent the whole movie going, “Wow!”

CLASSIC BOOK FILMOGRAPHY

2001 ~ Band of Brothers ~ Burton ‘Pat’ Christenson
2004 ~ Sherlock Holmes and the Case of the Silk Stocking ~ Charles Allen
2006 ~ Poirot: After the Funeral ~ George Abernethie
2007 ~ 300 ~ Stelios
2010 ~ Jonah Hex ~ Burke
2011 ~ Jane Eyre ~ Edward Rochester
2011 ~ X-Men: First Class ~ Erik Lehnsherr/Magneto
2013 ~ 12 Years a Slave ~ Edwin Epps
2014 ~ X-Men: Days of Future Past ~ Erik Lehnsherr/Magneto
2015 ~ Macbeth ~ Macbeth

For more of Michael’s filmography, visit Wikipedia.

FUN FACT Michael apparently still lives in the same London flat he moved into as a struggling actor.

GREAT QUOTE (on Jane Eyre) … I did it because my mother and my sister are really big fans of the book, and I wanted to see what they would think of the “Rochester” that I would bring to the table. … I like that the characters are ugly and they’re beautiful and they’re cruel and they’re nurturing. There’s so much complexity to the characters, they’re so well-written, and I find that interesting. There’s ambiguity within the characters, and that’s what really attracted me to it, to the performance.

What’s your favourite Fassy movie? Who should I profile next for Celebrities in Classics?

6 comments on “Celebrities in Classics – Michael Fassbender

  1. Brian Joseph
    August 28, 2015

    Michael Fassbenderreally has an impressive film resume, though I have not seen all his films that I want to see.

    Your post reminds me that I really want to see the new version of MacBeth.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 30, 2015

      MacBeth looks really good, but I think have to wait until December to see it. Have you read the play?

      Like

  2. jessicabookworm
    August 29, 2015

    I remember seeing Michael Fassbender in Band of Brothers (still one of my favourite TV shows) and the less well known show Hex. Who knew back then he’d be such a legend! I’d love to see you discuss James McAvoy next 🙂

    Like

  3. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    August 30, 2015

    Aw, it makes me so happy that Fassbender was able to make you like Rochester more! When I heard he was going to play Rochester, I started watching some of his films – 300, Fish Tank, also saw Poirot of course, but Jane Eyre was when I really fell in love with him. I adore his portrayal of Rochester! I should have been clamoring for you to feature him in this from the start! 🙂 I agree with the previous commenter – James McAvoy is a must!

    Like

  4. ebookclassics
    August 30, 2015

    Michael Fassbender made me really see how Mr. Rochester could be attractive despite his confusing behaviour. I’ve watched quite a few of his movies, but I watched The Counselor recently and he’s good, but the plot itself was very mediocre, so I don’t recommend that one.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged , , , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

