ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – Mia Wasikowska

miaCelebrities in Classics is a regular feature where I highlight the classic novel adaptations my favourite actors have starred in.

WHO IS IT? Mia Wasikowska is an Australian actress who had her first breakthrough performance with the HBO series, In Treatment. But you might know Mia like I do for playing not just one, but three famous classic book heroines: Alice from Alice in Wonderland, Madame Bovary and Jane Eyre. She is currently starring in Guillermo Del Toro’s Crimson Peak.

WHAT’S SO FASCINATING? In her short career, Mia has wowed audiences with her ability to capture both the passion and vulnerability of the iconic heroines she has played. In 2010, Mia won the Best Actress Award from the Australian Film Institute and Teen Choice Awards both for Alice in Wonderland.

FIRST ENCOUNTER I first saw Mia in Jane Eyre and I didn’t like her playing the character at all! But as the movie progressed, she really grew on me and I could see why they had chosen her for the role.

CLASSIC BOOK FILMOGRAPHY

2010 ~ Alice in Wonderland ~ Alice Kingsleigh
2011 ~ Jane Eyre ~ Jane Eyre
2013 ~ The Double ~ Hannah
2014 ~ Oscar Wilde’s The Nightingale and the Rose ~The Nightingale (voice)
2015 ~ Madame Bovary ~ Emma Bovary
2016 ~ Alice Through the Looking Glass ~ Alice Kingsleigh

FUN FACT Growing up with parents who were both photographers, Mia also loves photography and often photographs when she’s filming. Her photo of Jane Eyre director Cary Fukunaga and costar Jamie Bell was selected as a finalist in the 2011 National Photographic Portrait Prize in Australia.

GREAT QUOTE
“I love reading, but I didn’t have a wealth of knowledge when it came to that genre. Maybe it’s just not prominent in Australian culture. I had read the Brontë novels. But until I started work on Crimson Peak I didn’t even know that Frankenstein was written by a woman. I feel like I got a great education through Guillermo, because I finally read The Turn of the Screw and Frankenstein, and I learned a lot about Mary Shelley and that entire early Bohemian set. I just wouldn’t have thought to read those books. It was really cool having Guillermo suggest these things.”

What is your favourite Mia Wasikowska movie? Who is your favourite celebrity in a classic?

17 comments on “Celebrities in Classics – Mia Wasikowska

  1. janceewright
    October 14, 2015

    I can’t remember if I saw Alice or Jane Eyre first, but I loved both and I think she is a perfect fit for both roles. I’m really excited to see her in Madame Bovary and the new Alice movie!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 14, 2015

      I want to see Madame Bovary too. What about Crimson Peak?

      Like

      • janceewright
        October 14, 2015

        Nope. Nope nope nope nope. I can’t do horror or I have nightmares! I can read horror (and it’s one of my favorite genres), but seeing it visually is too much.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          October 14, 2015

          Ha, I totally get it. I used to read and watch a lot horror but now I’m a big scaredy cat. I will make an exception for Crimson Peak.

          Like

  2. Brian Joseph
    October 14, 2015

    The above quote is very interesting. I think that it is really neat playing roles in classic literature helped prompted Mia Wasikowska to read more classic literature.

    I have not seen any of her films. I will try to catch at least Jane Eyrie soon.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 14, 2015

      Yes, whatever it takes to get more people to read the classics! I’ve seen Mia Wasikowska in a few movies now and I definitely appreciate how natural and mature she is as an actor. I really liked her in The Double too.

      Like

  3. Naomi
    October 14, 2015

    I can’t wait to see Madame Bovary! I’m curious to see what angle they take on her character.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 14, 2015

      I can’t wait too! I feel like there was some criticism in the media about this adaptation about the way they interpreted the story, but I’ll watch it anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jessicabookworm
    October 14, 2015

    I thought Mia was a good Alice and Jane Eyre 🙂 I haven’t seen her in anything else but I love the look of Crimson Peak.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 14, 2015

      Crimson Peak looks like a really good gothic story. I’m a fan of Guillermo Del Toro and like a lot of the actors in the movie.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    October 14, 2015

    Oh I adored Mia in Jane Eyre, she’s my Jane now (until the next adaptation and maybe a better interpretation. :D) Just because of Jane Eyre, I love her as an actress. I really want to see Crimson Peak, but I’m a little afraid of the horror elements. It’s Gothic though so I need to see it, even if I wait til I can watch it at home where maybe I won’t get as freaked out. Haha.

    So happy to see Mia featured for Celebrities in Classics!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 14, 2015

      I like how you said Mia is your Jane now because I feel the same way, although I liked Ruth Wilson in the earlier version. Crimson Peak definitely looks creepy, so a cozy blanket to hide under might be in order. Or you’ll have to convince a good friend to let you scream and grab them at the scary parts.

      Like

  6. Cathy746books
    October 14, 2015

    I never knew she was Australian! I liked her in Only Lovers Left Alive, Maps to the Stars and Stoker. She has a great presence on screen for sure.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 14, 2015

      I didn’t know she was Australian either until researching this post! I’ve had Stoker in my Netflix queue for ages. Did you like the movie?

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Karen
    October 14, 2015

    I had no idea that she was in those classic films!! I’m so looking forward to Crimson Peak; it looks so good!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on October 14, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

