ebookclassics

Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon – Fall 2015 – The Aftermath

dewey logoAnother Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon finished! I mostly switched between The Bookseller and A Tale for the Time Being audio book, and it was incidental that both books looked at concepts about time and our identities. The Bookseller was excellent, although I was hoping for more of a twist to the explanation of what was happening to the main character and was mildly disappointed with the ending.

I also read and finished The Walking Dead: Days Gone By by Robert Kirkman and Tony Moore which is the first volume in the series and my brother gave to me because I’m a huge fan of the TV series. I’ve probably had the book sitting around for 3-4 years and I’m happy to finally start reading the graphic novels.

I also listened to Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling and I hate to say it, but as much as I adore her, I had a really hard time listening to this book because it’s so frivolous and fluffy. I would rather devote my time to another book. Sorry Mindy!

My head is a bit woozy, but coffee will fix that. During the day, I was aware I wasn’t reading very much and probably spent a majority of free time on Twitter and cheerleading, but the golden rule of the readathon is it’s not a competition. You’re just supposed to have fun and enjoy the spirit of the event. I think I did that 100%. I can’t wait until the Spring event!

STATS

Books Completed: 2

Pages Read: 439 pages

Audio Book Minutes: 80 minutes

Did you enjoy the readathon? How did you do?

9 comments on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon – Fall 2015 – The Aftermath

  1. Brian Joseph
    October 18, 2015

    Congragulations on completing the Read – A – Thon. I like your attitude about the event not being a competition. Such reading events should be about having fun.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 18, 2015

      Thank you! The readathon really concentrates the anxiety we already have about how much we read. I noticed that a lot of people had to talk themselves down from the pressure they had put on themselves. I was also aware I wasn’t making much progress during the day, but it’s just the reality of my life with a family and making peace with that makes it easier to go with the flow.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    October 18, 2015

    One of these times, I would love to join this. Right now, I’m happy reading everyone else’s posts about it. I think Fall might be the busiest time of year for us, and we were away for the day yesterday. Each time you do it, though, I’m inspired by how you’re able to work it around your family activities. But, I’m still not sure how I would do on next to no sleep. I might have to do an 18-hour read-a-thon, instead. The Bookseller sounds good!

    Like

  3. ebookclassics
    October 18, 2015

    I wouldn’t be able to do the readathon without a nap because I’m already sleep deprived on most days. I put the kids to bed as usual, fell asleep with them as usual and after a 2-hour nap I got up and that’s when I did my best reading over a 4-hour period. The readathon is so much fun, but weekends are for family time and will remain the priority for me. When my kids are older, I hope to have them join me. 🙂

    I really enjoyed The Bookseller. I would love to hear your thoughts if you decide to read it. I need to talk to someone about it.

    Like

  4. Cathy746books
    October 18, 2015

    I’d love to do the Readathon, but kids and work and lack of free time just won’t allow for it! Although I already feel tired all the time, no maybe I could do OK!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 18, 2015

      I know what you mean, I feel tired all the time too without a readathon and I’m feeling it today. I probably really only participated 6-7 hours of the 24 hour period, but it was a blast.

      Like

  5. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    October 19, 2015

    I didn’t know you were doing the readathon, too. I would have stopped by to cheer you on… Next time! I don’t have time to participate as a reader, but I was a cheerleader for the first time, and that was fun, too. Got to visit a few blogs that were completely new to me.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 20, 2015

      I saw some of your comments and wondered if you were participating as a reader. Cheerleading is definitely a good way of meeting new bloggers. I was so impressed by how many bloggers were from different countries.

      Like

  6. DoingDewey
    October 22, 2015

    It sounds like you had a great readathon! I hope you’re recovered now 🙂

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Now reading

and …

and …

