ebookclassics

Novellas in November 2015 – #NovNov

NovellasinNovemberIf you haven’t heard today’s news, the fantastic novella Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. I loved this book and highly recommend it.

I’m excited to be joining Laura and Rick for Novellas in November because I heavily rely on novellas for read-alongs, when I have a book hangover or just don’t want to make a big commitment to anything.

Here is my reading list for this month:

thelakeThe Lake by Perrine LeBlanc and translated from French by Lazer Lederhendler (208 pages) – The author is a former Governor General’s Award for Fiction winner and the story is about a messed-up small town in Quebec where three girls go missing. I’m about 100 pages in and the story is eerie, some of the characters disturbing or disturbed.

theuncommonreaderThe Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett (120 pages) – I’m listening to the audio book narrated by the author (it’s under 3 hours, so easy peasy) and it’s a cheeky, fun story about how the Queen of England discovers books, falls in love and becomes an avid reader.

 sulaSula by Toni Morrison (192 pages) – I haven’t read anything by Toni Morrison before and I’ve always been drawn to this story about two women from Ohio who grow up together and then grow apart.

waroftheworldsThe War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells (192 pages) – I’ve been craving some old-school science fiction for awhile and thought I would give this book a go. I might watch the Tom Cruise movie to compare (or despair!).

Join us for Novellas in November and tell me what you plan to read!

9 comments on “Novellas in November 2015 – #NovNov

  1. Super happy you’re participating this year 🙂

    Four really solid choices. I almost went with War of the Worlds, but just ran out of time (I’ve got 12 books on my novellas list for the month … maybe too ambitious).

    I read Uncommon Reader during Novellas in November in 2013. I thought it was only okay. A fun read, but yet another “the value of reading!” books. I’m just a bit burned out on those. But it’s funny, and the ending is wonderful (from what I remember).

    The Lake seems cool! Excited to see how that one turns out.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2015

      You’re right, there’s been a slew of books about books lately. I find it hilarious that The Queen is the main character of Uncommon Reader and for all we know, she hates books.

      The Lake is so hard to describe. I’m almost finished and there hasn’t been really one main character. The small town is the focus.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    November 4, 2015

    Yay Andre!! He completely deserves this one. He was shortlisted for it last year, too, but Miriam Toews came away with it.

    I’m hoping to join in with Novellas in November, too, but just casually, no announcement. Partly because I can’t remember most of the novellas I requested from the library. They’ll be a nice surprise when (if) they start coming in. I do hope they come in time.
    I’m sure my library must have lots of novellas, just not the ones I was hoping for. Except for ‘The Stranger’ by Albert Camus. So, I know I’m reading that one. Maybe I should go in sometime and just wander around, pulling out any book that looks skinny…

    I’ll be curious to hear what you think of The Lake. I read The Uncommon Reader last year and thought it was fun. I just checked my library for Sula and they have it! So, if my requests don’t show up soon, I’ll run in and grab that one!
    Happy Reading!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2015

      Ooh, it will be fun to see what holds come it. I always find it serendipitous. Your luck is better than mine because my home town library doesn’t have Sula! And I no longer have access to the Toronto library because my card expired and I no longer work in the city. I might be switching to The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Brian Joseph
    November 5, 2015

    War of the Worlds is such a fantastic classic piece of science fiction. I hope that you enjoy it.

    I may be in the minority, but I loved the Tom Cruise film. I think that it was one of the best alien invasions movies ever made. I also highly recommend the 1953 film version. If you watch that first you will see the folks who stared in that older version appear at the end of the Tom Cruise version.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2015

      I’m looking forward to the book because I haven’t read any H.G. Wells for some time, probably The Time Machine was last. I usually like sci-fi movies that get panned. If I watch the movie, we can discuss movie vs. book.

      Like

  4. Laura
    November 5, 2015

    I’m going to join this year if it is ok. Looking forward to entering the world of the novella.
    Laura
    http://bit.ly/1StF0vt

    Like

  5. Pingback: Novellas in November 2015: A Wrap Up | The Book-A-Week Project

  6. Pingback: Novellas in November 2015: Wrap up | Reading in Bed

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 4, 2015 by in Reviews.

Now reading

and …

and …

