ebookclassics

Book to Movie Challenge 2016 – Announcement Post

books to movies

Yes, it’s back! The Book to Movie Challenge is being rebooted in 2016 with more discussions, more monthly themes and more fun because let’s face it — the format last year probably bored all of you to tears! In addition, I’ll be giving away a few prizes throughout the year because bling is great motivation to participate.

GUIDELINES

♦  You can join at any time.

♦  Neither the book nor the movie has to be new in 2016.

♦  TV shows and mini-series count.

♦  Comic book and graphic novel adaptations count.

♦  Active participation in the challenge is required to qualify for prizes.

♦  Participation includes (but is not mandatory):

◊  Linking to a book to movie review on your blog

◊  Commenting on Book to Movie posts and participating in discussions

◊  Reading and commenting on the reviews of your fellow challenge participants

◊  Giving some of the mini-challenges a go

◊  Talking about the challenge on social media

♦  Prize winners will be randomly selected.

To sign-up for the challenge, post an introduction on your blog that names three (3) book adaptations in 2016 you’re excited about and tell us:

♦  Have you read the book and did you love/loathe it?

♦  Why are you excited about the adaptation?

♦  What do you think of the casting?

Here are some of the adaptations I’m excited for just to give you an idea of what’s coming up.

adaptations

Link your sign-up post by December 31st at 12 noon EST to qualify for a prize. One (1) blogger will win their choice of book of up to $20 in value from the Book Depository.

Announce your sign-up on social media by using the hashtag #Book2Movie2016.

Thanks for joining and I can’t wait to read your sign-up posts!

38 comments on “Book to Movie Challenge 2016 – Announcement Post

  1. Damien Riley
    November 22, 2015

    This sounds really exciting! Goodreads has a page I think of books that were made into movies. It’s actually more sizable than one would think.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 24, 2015

      Thanks so much! I hope you can join in. I’ll have to look for that Goodreads list.

      Like

  2. Cathy746books
    November 22, 2015

    This sounds great and I will definitely take part!

    Like

  3. Naomi
    November 23, 2015

    I didn’t do so well with this last year, since I barely watched any movies. Let’s see how this year goes! Glad you’re doing it again – it’s always fun to follow along!

    Like

  4. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    November 24, 2015

    Well, I’ve been mulling it over since yesterday, but since you said the books and movies can be old, I think I will participate. (I don’t remember the last time I saw a movie while it was still “new.”)

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 24, 2015

      Yay! So happy to have you join in. I wasn’t watching a lot of new movies for awhile too. But anything you’ve seen that’s an adaptation counts.

      Like

  5. jessicabookworm
    November 25, 2015

    As I love watching adaptations I really should take part this time! I am going to work on my sign-up post now 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 27, 2015

      I’m so happy the hear you’re joining! You are really good at keeping up with adaptations and I’ve always enjoyed talking to you about them.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. lauratfrey
    November 25, 2015

    Very cool. I am excited to hate on Me Before You lol. I will have to do a little research to see what movies I’m looking forward to… old movies will be the way to go, I think! Classic adaptations.

    PS omg audio of The Days of Abandonment???

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 27, 2015

      The problem with adaptations really is which ones are worth watching. Days of Abandonment is tough for me and I’m having a break from it. After four hours of audio, I just wish she’d get on with it. But I really want to know how it ends.

      Like

  7. Pingback: Challenge: Book to Movie 2016 | The Bookworm Chronicles

  8. jamie
    December 1, 2015

    I’m in again!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 2, 2015

      Thank you for coming back! I can’t wait to talk about what you watch.

      Like

  9. Pingback: Whatcha Reading? // 2016 Reading Challenges |

  10. Julie's Book Reviews
    December 4, 2015

    This is my favorite challenge! Thanks for hosting it again this year!

    Like

  11. Pingback: 2016 Reading Challenges | Devour Words

  12. Pingback: Looking for a List of 2016 Reading/Blogging Challenges? Look No Further! - Feed Your Fiction AddictionFeed Your Fiction Addiction

  13. Pingback: So Long, Dear Friends | My Book Strings

  14. Pingback: 2016 Reading Challenge (Around the Web) | xxertz's Blog

  15. Pingback: New Year’s Plans – West Virginia Reads & Runs

  16. Pingback: Ready for 2016 | My Book Strings

  17. Pingback: On manifestos | Reading in Bed

  18. wvredreads
    January 7, 2016

    I was trying to Sign up but the inlinkz seems broken.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 7, 2016

      Hello! My apologies the link may have expired and I will try to extend the date. Try again tomorrow or I should be adding another post with link-up at the end of the week, so you could try there too. Thank you for joining!

      Like

  19. kherbrand
    January 18, 2016

    Hello – my sign up link is here – http://booksandneedlepoint.blogspot.com/2016/01/books-to-movie-reading-challenge.html

    Thanks for hosting!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2016

      Thanks for joining! Can’t wait to talk to you about books and movies.

      Like

  20. Pingback: The Masters Review | 15 Reading Challenges That Will Encourage You to Read More, and Read Widely

  21. nicolaliteraryramblings
    February 17, 2016

    Hi, I’d love to sign up! Remind me what I need to do again…. ? (sorry…)

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 17, 2016

      No problem at all! Consider this your sign-up and just jump in with any posts you want to share. I’m planning some mini-challenges in March, so stay tuned.

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Pingback: Book to Movie Challenge 2016: Emma (1996), Anna Karenina (2012), and In Her Shoes | Reading in Bed

  23. Darlene
    July 31, 2016

    I could not add my link because it says that your registration has expired. Here’s my sign-up page:
    http://darlenesbooknook.blogspot.ca/p/blog-page.html

    Thanks!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 5, 2016

      Darlene, I apologize for the late response. I ended the challenge early because of a lack of participation. But I hope to bring back the challenge in a new format in 2017. Thanks for your interest!

      Like

  24. Pingback: Whatcha Reading? // 2016 Reading Challenges | READING A PAGE TURNER

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2015 by in Book to Movie Challenge and tagged , , , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

