ebookclassics

Book Blogger Discussion Challenge 2015 – Blogexistential Crises

2015-Discussion-Challenge3

A new job — which I loathe and can’t wait to leave — has kept me preoccupied and zapped of any motivation for blogging these last few months. But being away from my blog gave me time to think about how I’m a little bored with the Read-Review-Repeat cycle. How many times can I say, “Wow, this was a great book!” and not sound disingenuous? If I’m bored, it must be showing in my reviews and that’s not good.

I began to wonder whether it was time to stop blogging which leads me to these discussion questions:

Have you ever had a blogexistential crisis and what did you do?

How and where do you find inspiration and new ideas to keep blogging fun?

I love talking about books with all of you and decided not to give up my blog. But I will be trying to do things differently, so don’t be surprised if you see fewer reviews and more of … I’m not sure what yet!

Thanks to Nicole and Shannon for hosting the Book Blogger Discussion Challenge this year. I discussed so many great topics and met a lot of very cool bloggers. Visit Feed Your Fiction Addiction and It Starts At Midnight to see this month’s discussion topics.

21 comments on “Book Blogger Discussion Challenge 2015 – Blogexistential Crises

  1. Naomi
    December 4, 2015

    I’m happy to hear you decided to stick with it! But, sorry about your miserable new job – I hope you can fix that little problem very soon.
    I’m not sure I have any tips for you about your blog. I already find you have quite a variety of fun things going on here – not just reviews. For me, talking about the books I read is still fun. When it’s not anymore, I don’t know what I’ll do.
    Maybe you could widen your blog up to include other things you’re interested in. Books and baking? Books and the news? Books and home decor? Books and movies? Whatever it is that you like to talk about.
    Also, maybe once you get your job back in a good place, your blogging will follow?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 4, 2015

      Thanks for the suggestions! Would you say your A-Z project gives you some focus? I was thinking maybe I need to focus again on classics and on the book to movie challenge. I’ve really wandered away from the original reason why I started this blog.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi
        December 5, 2015

        Yes! Even though I know I stray hugely from the actual project (I didn’t expect it to take this long to finish), I still feel like my blog has a focus. Maybe that’s one of the reasons I still feel excited about it. (Obviously, it has to be one that you’re passionate about.)

        Like

  2. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    December 4, 2015

    I’m glad, too, that you decided to stick with blogging. I haven’t had any blog fatigue yet, but I’ve despaired a few times when I read books about which I had nothing to say, even if they were great books. I decided to simply not let that bother me, take a step back, and then come back when I felt good about it again. I’m looking forward to what you come up with for your blog, whatever it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ebookclassics
      December 4, 2015

      This year I also found I didn’t have anything to say about books I read even though they were really good. It felt unfair to the book to write a mediocre review, so I tried at least to make sure I gave the book a good rating on Goodreads.

      Like

  3. The Paperback Princess
    December 4, 2015

    I hear you! And I’m so sorry about your job situation. Having been in that situation a number of times, I really empathize. I do think that when your job is sucking that hard, it does tend to bleed into other areas of your life and colour the way you feel about things.
    But I’m glad you’ve decided to stick with it!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 4, 2015

      Thanks! You’re right, the job thing is really a drag. I’m trying really hard to just deal with it and not let it ruin my enjoyment of other things.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jennielyse
    December 4, 2015

    Yeah, I have a blogexisential crisis fairly often. But, I love blogging, so I just keep up with it. I repeat Dory’s mantra a lot, “Just keep swimming.” My blog may be boring at times and then other times, it’s full of life. Good luck with your crisis. I’m glad you’ve decided to stick around.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 4, 2015

      I love Dory, she’s always bursting with positivity. I remember that you took a few breaks and came back when you were ready. I guess our ups and downs really are reflected in our blogs and that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

      Like

  5. Cecilia
    December 4, 2015

    Oh, I’m right in the middle of one right now and have been, for the past year! So I am feeling your frustration. I agree with the others above who said that your blogging may well follow once your job situation clears up. My family crises of last winter definitely precipitated my difficulties in writing…I’ve found that whenever my emotional energy is drained in other areas of life my blogging life suffers. Each time that I’ve lost motivation it was a surprise email from a blogger friend that re-inspired me to write again. I was also inspired by Emily January’s recent post about results from a book blog survey (you may have seen this post), where it looked like readers really enjoyed book blogs that also talked about other topics or personal topics or something like that, so that’s a consideration! But take care of yourself first. You are definitely not alone.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 4, 2015

      Hi there! It’s so nice to hear from you and hope you’ve been well. Can you share the link to Emily’s survey results? I’m not sure I’ve seen that post. I definitely get inspiration reading blogs and seeing what other bloggers are excited about. By the way, whenever I see a book with “wife” in the title, I think of you. 🙂

      Like

  6. Maybe it’s the monotony of the never ending loop of reading-and-reviewing that’s sucking the life out of it. I look to the community to continually find inspiration to keep trucking along. Speaking of which, did you get my email for Bookmas meetup?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 4, 2015

      Yes and thank you! I will respond tonight. Reading all of your comments has been a HUGE help and I’m feeling much more motivated now (and a bit silly for even blathering on about this). I do find the reviewing loop a bit monotonous, but I’ll try figure out how to make it interesting again.

      Like

  7. After two years of blogging I do have that feeling now when contemplating a review: “Now what do i say about this one?” And I wonder if I can simply read a book and not worry about expressing my thoughts. But I get excited about it again whenever I find a topic or book that I really want to share with others. If classics or the book-to-movie challenge do that for you, go with them! Or maybe there’s another area you haven’t yet gone into and would like to try. Do something new, that’s always fun!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 6, 2015

      Good suggestion! Now I just have to figure out what that is, so stay tuned. I really think review fatigue is a factor too and that will eventually go away.

      Like

  8. Brian Joseph
    December 5, 2015

    I am sorry to hear about your job woes. Hopefully that will change soon.

    I really enjoy posts and hope that you will continue.

    I have experienced crises and have considered quitting blogging several times. I love to express myself through my blog and have never really become bored.

    For me it is an issue of time. I am a very slow writer and I have found that blogging takes a lot of time. As I spend a lot of time at work and with other interests reading time is precious for me. Blogging time actually slows down my reading. In the end I have always decided the tradeoff was worth it.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 6, 2015

      Thanks so much! I really appreciate how supportive everyone has been. I’m job hunting and hopefully will find something right for me.

      I know exactly the trade off you mentioned because I feel that way all the time. There are days when all I want to do is blog and days where I just want to read. At times I feel obligated to post or if I don’t post on a regular basis, people will stop following the blog. Sometimes I don’t care if that happens and sometimes I really care. I’m always going around in circles! But ultimately, I’m going to stick around and not stop blogging.

      Like

  9. DoingDewey
    December 7, 2015

    I periodically feel slump-y and I’ve found that planning my posts helps a lot. If I plan out my posts, I can more easily get them written in advance, leaving me time to think up fun, different posts in addition to reviews 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 9, 2015

      I can see how planning ahead could be quite motivating and give you something to look forward to when in that that slumpy mood.

      Like

  10. Sometimes you just need to shake things up a bit. Hopefully you’ll be feeling more motivated soon!!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 14, 2015

      Thanks so much! I’m definitely motivated talking to other bloggers.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

