ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – James McAvoy

mcavoy

Celebrities in Classics is a regular feature where I highlight the classic novel adaptations my favourite actors have starred in.

WHO IS IT? James McAvoy is a Scottish actor who worked in television and theatre for most of his teens and twenties until his breakthrough role in The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. He has won numerous awards including the BAFTA Best Actor award for The Last King of Scotland and the Empire Award for Best Actor for Atonement. You can currently see him in theatres playing Dr. Victor Frankenstein.

WHAT’S SO FASCINATING? James McAvoy is a dynamic actor and we’ve seen him successfully play vulnerable characters, as well as ballsy characters. Maybe it’s the eyes or maybe it’s the accent, James is an ideal actor for playing tragic, romantic figures. But at the same time, he conveys the scrappiness of someone tougher than he first appears.

FIRST ENCOUNTER: I first saw James in the movie, The Last King of Scotland, which was an intense and violent story. James plays a young, naïve doctor who witnesses the rule of Idi Amin, president of Uganda during the seventies.

CLASSIC BOOK FILMOGRAPHY

2001 ~ Lorna Doone ~ Sergeant Bloxham (TV)
2002 ~ White Teeth ~ Josh Malfen (TV)
2003 ~ Frank Herbert’s Children of Dune ~ Leto II Atreides (TV)
2003 ~ Bright Young Things ~ The Earl of Balcairn
2003 ~ Bollywood Queen ~ Jay
2005 ~ The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe ~ Mr. Tumnus
2007 ~ Becoming Jane ~ Thomas Lefroy
2007 ~ Atonement ~ Robbie Turner
2011 ~ Gnomeo and Juliet ~ Gnomeo (voice)
2011 ~ X-Men: First Class ~ Professor Charles Xavier
2014 ~ X-Men: Days of Future Past ~ Professor Charles Xavier
2015 ~ Victor Frankenstein ~ Victor Frankenstein
2016 ~ X-Men: Apocalypse ~ Professor Charles Xavier

To see James McAvoy’s full filmography, visit Wikipedia.

FUN FACT: James is a trained fencer and acrobat.

GREAT QUOTE: When you can see kids smiling, that’s one of the best things. That’s why I did ‘Narnia.’

What’s your favourite James McAvoy movie? Which celebrity in a classic should I profile next?

19 comments on “Celebrities in Classics – James McAvoy

  1. jessicabookworm
    December 10, 2015

    James McAvoy is brilliant in The Chronicles of Narnia, Bright Young Things, Becoming Jane and the X-Men films 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 10, 2015

      I haven’t seen Narnia yet (I’m about to read the book), but I really loved Becoming Jane and all of the X-Men movies.

      Like

      • jessicabookworm
        December 12, 2015

        I hope you enjoy Narnia (the book and film) I think they are both lovely 🙂

        Like

  2. jennielyse
    December 10, 2015

    I ❤ James McAvoy. He's number 6 on my top ten. My favorite thing with him in it is Becoming Jane, but I love everything he does.

    Like

    • Rick @ The Book-A-Week Project
      December 10, 2015

      “He’s number 6 on my top ten.” I laughed out loud at how official this sounded 😀

      Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 10, 2015

      I thought his character in Becoming Jane at first was very gloomy, but then I kind of found that attractive!

      Like

  3. Rick @ The Book-A-Week Project
    December 10, 2015

    I was about to comment on how you have X-Men films listed here as classic book adaptations, how funny that is. But then I thought about it, and in the grand scheme of comic books, they’re definitely classics. So my bad!

    Like

  4. Naomi
    December 10, 2015

    As you know, I don’t watch a lot of movies, but when I saw him, he looked so familiar (yes, it’s true, I wouldn’t have been able to put a name to his face or a face to his name – I’m pathetic). But I saw three of these movies (yay me!) – Becoming Jane, Narnia, and Atonement. Atonement just about killed me (I think we’ve talked about this before).

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 10, 2015

      Still haven’t seen Narnia, but thought he was wonderful in both Becoming Jane and Atonement. I still haven’t read Atonement, but almost did for Novellas in November because I think it qualifies.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Brian Joseph
    December 11, 2015

    I must admit that I have not seen a lot of his movies. My movie watching has been infrequent lately. i have not kept up with the X Men films.

    I did see Atonement. I thought that his performance was excellent.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 11, 2015

      Atonement was a very good movie. I wasn’t expecting the ending. Have you read the book?

      Like

  6. lauratfrey
    December 11, 2015

    I first saw him in The Last King of Scotland too. Swoon. It is definitely the eyes. I fantasy-cast him as David in Lisa Moore’s CAUGHT. I wonder if Becoming Jane is worth watching? I’m having a Jane Austen moment…

    Like

  7. ebookclassics
    December 11, 2015

    James is very swoony and he would make a great David in Caught! I enjoyed Becoming Jane, although it took awhile for his character to grow on me.

    Like

  8. Jillian
    December 11, 2015

    My favorite by McAvoy is Atonement. Such a great movie.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 11, 2015

      Agreed! I didn’t know he won an award for the movie until I researched this post.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2015 by in Celebrities in Classics and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

