ebookclassics

6th Annual End of Year Book Survey – Best In Books

 

blog

The 6th Annual End of Year Book Survey is hosted by Jamie at Perpetual Page Turner. Even though the year isn’t over, I decided to tackle the survey and divide it into two parts..

Number Of Books You Read: 66
Number of Re-Reads: 1 (Are You There God? It’s Me Margaret? by Judy Blume)
Genre You Read The Most From: Literary fiction

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?

It’s so hard choosing, but here goes …

Best Fiction: Miss Emily by Nuala O’Connor

Best Nonfiction: Born With Teeth by Kate Mulgrew (but admittedly, my non-fiction reading this year was dismal)

Best Fiction (Canadian): Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis

Best Nonfiction (Canadian): Nellie McClung by Charlotte Gray

Best Classic: Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

Best Backlist: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Best Audio Book: Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

Funhome by Alison Bechdel – In a good way.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis

5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?

Does The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown (Robert Langdon series) count?

6. Favorite new author(s) you discovered in 2015?

So many wonderful new-to-me authors! I really enjoyed Cinda Gault’s This Godforsaken Place, Amy Stewart’s Girl Waits With Gun, Nuala O’Connor’s Miss Emily and Claire Fuller’s Our Endless Numbered Days.

 7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

When Everything Feels Like The Movies by Raziel Reid. This book was controversial during Canada Reads and there was plenty of interesting blogger discussions about the story.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

The Martian by Andy Weir.

9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

None. Too many books still on the TBR!

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jaqueline Woodson

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

Why fiddle dee dee, it’s Miss Scarlett O’Hara! From Gone With the Wind, of course.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

Euphoria by Lily King

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?

The Woman in this Poem (anthology by Plumleaf Press, poetry selected by Georgia Heard) because I never read poetry, but all of the poems in this anthology either soothed my soul or made me cry or gave me something to think about.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read?

Persuasion by Jane Austen

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

 “After all, tomorrow is another day!” by Scarlett O’Hara from Gone With the Wind. It reminds me a lot of Anne from Anne of Green Gables when she says, “Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

Shortest = The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman (63 pages)
Longest = Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell (1,051 pages). I think it took me six months to read!

17. Book That Shocked You The Most

I’m Coming by Selma Lønning Aarø – It’s not every day when the plot centres around trying to orgasm.

18. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Armada by Ernest Cline. I know, many found this book underwhelming, but I liked it.

21. Best Book You Read In 2015That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure

None

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

David from Caught by Lisa Moore. Bad boys, bad boys … whatcha gonna do?

23. Best 2015 debut you read?

Ugh, so hard to choose! But I’m going with a Canadian and picking Cinda Gault’s This Godforsaken Place.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. It wasn’t just a case of world-building, but connecting worlds through time and space.

 25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. I’m not even finished, but the book wins hands down.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?

The Woman in this Poem anthology made me cry a lot. I would read a title and cry.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Miss Emily by Nuala O’Connor. More beautiful poetry.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Woman in this Poem anthology

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

 Even though it’s fiction, When Everything Feels Like The Movies by Raziel Reid made me angry about hateful, ignorant people who would hurt or even kill other people they perceived as “different”.

Overall, I read many amazing books this year! What were your faves for 2015? Stay tuned for Part 2 of the survey.

29 comments on “6th Annual End of Year Book Survey – Best In Books

  1. Jillian
    December 11, 2015

    Yay for the best book and character of all making this list! 😀

    Like

  2. Naomi
    December 11, 2015

    I feel like I should be reading The Woman in This Poem! I want to hear more about it. I’d also like to hear what you thought of Nellie McClung – I have Sisters In the Wilderness and am excited to get to it.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 12, 2015

      The Woman in This Poem is amazing, I highly recommend it. I enjoyed Nellie McClung and learned so much about her. You rarely hear about Nellie which is a shame because she’s truly a Canadian icon. She was a big fan of Susan Moodie and now I’m inspired to read Roughing It In the Bush.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi
        December 13, 2015

        My neighbour named her dog Nellie, after Nellie McClung.
        And I think I have her autobiography on my shelf, but I haven’t read it yet.
        I have been wanting to read Roughing It In the Bush since I read her sister’s book a few years ago, The Backwoods of Canada by Catheribe Parr Traill.

        Like

      • TJ @ MyBookStrings
        December 14, 2015

        I want to read Roughing It in the Bush next year, as part of my revised Classics Club list. Should we read together?

        Like

  3. Brian Joseph
    December 12, 2015

    I loved reading your list. You read such an interesting bunch of books this year.

    I also read Persuasion this year for the first time. I also felt that I waited way to long to have read it.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 14, 2015

      Thanks Brian! Although, I wish I read more. Oh well, there’s always next year.

      Like

  4. lauratfrey
    December 12, 2015

    There’s more?? Dang that’s a long survey. You should link to where you can buy The Woman in This Poem, I had to do some digging!

    Like

    • Naomi
      December 13, 2015

      Did you find it, Laura?

      Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 14, 2015

      It really is a long survey. The next part is about blogging, so I felt okay holding off on writing that part.

      Like

  5. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    December 14, 2015

    I’m really curious about The Woman in This Poem now, too. I’m off to Google it…

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 14, 2015

      Ladies, I just posted my review. I’ve asked the publisher about where it can be purchased and will add that information to the post. I would offer to pass my copy along, but I really want to hang onto it. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Briana
    December 19, 2015

    I haven’t actually read anything by Jane Austen yet, so at least you’re ahead of me!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 21, 2015

      Ha ha, it’s nice to know I’m not the only one taking their time.

      Like

  7. ChrissiReads
    December 23, 2015

    I really need to read Go Set A Watchman, but I’m really nervous about reading it! Eek! Ooh I really want to read Brown Girl Dreaming too. I must add that to my TBR.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 23, 2015

      I almost didn’t read Go Set A Watchman, but I got sucked in by all of the controversy when the book was released. I really enjoyed listening to the audio book with Reese Witherspoon narrating. I also highly recommend Brown Girl Dreaming and another blogger said Jacqueline Woodson was an excellent narrator.

      Like

  8. downrightdystopian
    December 28, 2015

    I absolutely loved The Martian too! It was amazing. 🙂
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 31, 2015

      Agreed! It was one of the best books I read this year. Definitely lived up to the hype.

      Like

  9. Maggie
    January 3, 2016

    I love Dan Brown’s Robert Langdon books! I totally included Inferno in my End of Year Survey too! I’m so excited to see that so many of my fellow book lovers adored The Martian! I’m really excited to read it so I can then watch the movie! 😀 Happy reading!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 4, 2016

      It’s a little slow going listening to The Lost Symbol, but I’ll probably try reading Inferno next. I look forward to hearing what think of The Martian. I found it very entertaining.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Now reading

and …

and …

