ebookclassics

The Woman in this Poem (Anthology) (2015)

thewoman

My local paper was profiling Plumleaf Press, an imprint of Rubicon Publishing and this is how I first heard about The Woman in this Poem. They generously sent me a review copy and the timing was perfect because I had been feeling down and a bit lost when I started reading the book. As I mentioned elsewhere, I found the poems were the perfect balm to soothe the hurt I was feeling.

THE BOOK
The poems in this anthology were selected by Georgia Heard, a poet and author from New York. The collection is divided up into different themes that speak to a woman’s every day existence: Love, Motherhood, Work, Family and Friends, and Balance. Georgia Heard introduces each section to give some background to the poems.

THE GOOD
I found this collection of poems pleasantly accessible, especially for someone like me who doesn’t read a lot of poetry. I thought Georgia Heard did an excellent job selecting poetry that reflected the themes and her choices really resonated with me.

THE BAD
Although I enjoyed the work by well-known poets, such as Emily Dickinson, I think this anthology could have stood on its own without the famous names.

CONCLUSION
I highly recommend this anthology for anyone seeking comfort, but finds reading a regular book requires too much concentration and energy. Reading a few poems and meditating on the meaning was the perfect way to wind-down after a long day. I’m also inspired again to introduce more poetry into my life, as this book proves I probably need more of it in my life.

5/5 Stars

NOTE
I received a copy of The Woman in this Poem with much thanks to Plumleaf Press, but this in no way influenced the thoughts and opinions expressed in my review.

ORDERING INFORMATION
You can get the anthology from Amazon or order it directly from Plumleaf Press. Please contact Amy and she will send you the order form.

8 comments on “The Woman in this Poem (Anthology) (2015)

  1. Naomi
    December 14, 2015

    I’m so glad you reviewed it – it sounds like just the thing. Also, like a great gift for my sister. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 14, 2015

      I think it would make a lovely gift for someone special like your sister. I already bought Christmas gifts, but maybe for Mother’s Day or birthday this would be a good go-to gift.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Brian Joseph
    December 15, 2015

    I really need to read more poetry.

    You raise a really good point how one with limited time and/or energy can read poetry collection without having their experience fragmented.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 15, 2015

      It never occurred to me either. For awhile, I was unable to read a novel, but had no trouble with poetry and graphic novels.

      Like

  3. lauratfrey
    December 15, 2015

    Do you think someone who isn’t a mother would get something out of it? Just wondering how parenting-heavy it is.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 15, 2015

      There is one whole section dedicated to being a mother, so yeah might not be very relatable. It also occurred to me that this book probably would probably resonate more with someone with a few years behind them, as opposed to someone just venturing out in life.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 14, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

