ebookclassics

Back to the Classics Challenge 2016

BackToTheClassics2016

The Back to the Classics 2016 Challenge is back and hosted again by Karen at Books and Chocolate. This is the perfect challenge to get me back on track reading classic books. Visit the sign-up post for challenge guidelines and to join the fun.

I’m going all out and aiming to read 12 classics in 2016!

1.  A 19th Century ClassicWuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

2.  A 20th Century ClassicRoughing It in the Bush by Susan Moodie (reading this with a few friends)

3.  A classic by a woman authorTo the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf (for #Woolfalong)

4.  A classic in translationThe Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank

5.  A classic by a non-white authorSula by Toni Morrison

6.  An adventure classicAround the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne

7.  A fantasy, science fiction, or dystopian classicThe Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick

8.  A classic detective novelThe Mysterious Affair At Styles: The First Hercule Poirot Mystery by Agatha Christie

9.  A classic which includes the name of a place in the titleA Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain

10.  A classic which has been banned or censoredThe Giver by Lois Lowry

11.  Re-read a classic you read in schoolTo Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

12.  A volume of classic short storiesThe Works Of Edgar Allan Poe – Edgar Allan Poe

I can’t wait to get started! Have you read any of these books? What classics are on your reading list for 2016?

32 comments on “Back to the Classics Challenge 2016

  1. Jillian
    December 16, 2015

    Anne Frank’s diary is excellent. I just read it for the first time this year. I also just read Sula: it’s quite good as well. Lots of great picks here! Have fun. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 16, 2015

      I can’t remember if I’ve read Anne Frank’s diary, but I look forward to reading it.

      Like

  2. heavenali
    December 16, 2015

    I keep seeing people posting about this. It sounds great. I may have to try it myself.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 16, 2015

      Whether you join the challenge or not, I’ve always had the impression you have a steady stream of interesting classics on the go.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Christine
    December 16, 2015

    Yay! This is my favorite challenge – 2016 will be my third year (and the first year I am aiming to complete the challenge with books only written by women)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ebookclassics
      December 16, 2015

      That’s a fantastic goal! Good luck and I can’t wait to read your reviews.

      Like

    • Karen K.
      December 16, 2015

      Thank you!

      Like

  4. jessicabookworm
    December 16, 2015

    I will be continuing with the Classics Club next year – where in March I will reach the 4 year milestone and only have 1 year left! I have read Wuthering Heights which is very moody, atmospheric and gothic – love it! I also read Around the World in Eighty Days last year and found it a lot of fun. Good luck and I hope you enjoy your classic reading in 2016 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 16, 2015

      Wow, where has the time gone? I’m pretty sure you inspired me to read Around the World in Eighty Days. I’m very curious about Wuthering Heights because people seem to have mixed feelings about the book.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Naomi
    December 16, 2015

    I have been tempted by this challenge since seeing it on TJ’s blog. It looks like a lot of fun, and there are so many possibilities for books I already own as well as a few Canadian classics (like Roughing It In the Bush). If I do it though, I might wimp out and only do the 6 book challenge – a little less pressure.
    I’m also planning to read at least one book for the Woolfalong.
    I love The Giver – can’t wait to hear what you think. My daughter and I have both read all 4 of the books in the series. She even liked them as much as I did, which is saying something.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 21, 2015

      I love that you and your daughter read The Giver series. I would really love to follow along if you did join and read all Canadian classics. I almost only signed up for the 6 book challenge, but decided to just go for all 12.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Karen K.
    December 16, 2015

    Great list — but don’t forget, books have to have publication dates at least 50 years ago. I’m not sure about Sula and The Giver. And I’m very intrigued by Roughing It in the Bush — I haven’t read many Canadian writers.

    Like

    • Karen K.
      December 16, 2015

      And thanks for signing up for the Back to the Classics Challenge!

      Like

      • ebookclassics
        December 21, 2015

        So happy to join! Ooh, I didn’t think to check the publication dates for those books. I’ll look into that and thanks for pointing it out.

        Like

  7. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    December 17, 2015

    This is a great list! All of these books you haven’t read yet, right? I’m very excited to see what you think of Wuthering Heights, A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court and the Poirot book! 🙂 Good luck with the challenge!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 21, 2015

      Thanks so much! You’re right, it will be the first time I read all of those books. I’m really looking forward to reading them.

      Like

  8. Brian Joseph
    December 17, 2015

    This looks to be a great list.

    The Man in the High Castle is a favorite of mine. It is structured very oddly and does not lend itself to easy interpretation.

    I have not seen the new television series. I am very curious about it. Have you seen it?

    Happy reading in 2016!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 21, 2015

      I did watch the TV series and thought it was very well done. It’s the reason I want to read the book now, although I heard that they changed the story and added characters. Happy reading in 2016 to you too!

      Like

  9. Cleo @ Classical Carousel
    December 18, 2015

    I’m so glad to see that you’re getting “back to the classics”! I’ll be keeping a look out for your reviews!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 21, 2015

      Thanks so much! I’ve been away too long and can’t wait to get started.

      Like

  10. Arianna Schlegel
    December 28, 2015

    I NEED to join you in reading #s 4, 8, and 9 – these have been on my to-read list for AGES! I’ve enjoyed several of the others you’ve got on your list, too – as others have said, it’s a great selection! I think you chose a great variety to keep yourself very engaged. I look forward to hearing what you have to say about all of them.

    Happy 2016!

    Arianna
    shelfnotes.com

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 31, 2015

      Happy new year, Arianna! If you aren’t buried by too many books on your TBR, let’s do it. Let’s read one of these books together!

      Like

      • Arianna Schlegel
        January 4, 2016

        Well, as I am sure you understand, I’m *always* buried by my TBR 😉 but I’d absolutely love to read one together!! I can work around your schedule, too, most likely. Ooo this’ll be fun!

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          January 7, 2016

          Do you have a preference? I’m leaning towards The Diary of Anne Frank because she’s been in the news lately (and has nothing to do with The Fault in Our Stars *wink*).

          Like

          • Arianna Schlegel
            January 7, 2016

            Let’s do it! I can’t help but think of My So-Called Life every time I think of Anne Frank – did you ever watch that show? But you are right, that she’s been in the news a lot means it would be a very timely reading. I am in!

            Like

            • ebookclassics
              January 10, 2016

              Ooh, good pop culture reference. I haven’t thought of My So-Called Life in ages. do you have a preference of time? I’m fairly flexible.

              Like

              • Arianna Schlegel
                January 15, 2016

                I don’t have any real time constraints at all…and it’s a pretty reasonably-sized book, right? We can get going right away! Or, we could try to time it with some important date related to WWII…hmm….she was killed in February. We could make that Anne Frank Reading Month? It’s a shame we didn’t do this last year – would have been the 70th anniversary, but still it would work well as a memorial to her. What do you think? (Am I being silly? We could totally just start it any old time, too…) 🙂

                Like

                • ebookclassics
                  January 20, 2016

                  Great idea. I love the idea of an Anne Frank month in February. Let’s do it! Who wants to join us?

                  Like

                  • Arianna Schlegel
                    January 20, 2016

                    Fabulous! I am already looking forward to it. 🙂 And hurray, the more the merrier! (Well…can I really say that about such a tragic book? But I am looking forward to sharing the experience with others.)

                    Like

                    • ebookclassics
                      January 22, 2016

                      I know, we’re being very cheery about reading a tragic story. But I look forward to it too.

                      Like

  11. Melinda
    January 21, 2016

    Good luck on this challenge! My progress with classic challenge has been pathetic, I hope I can catch up this year

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 22, 2016

      I hope you can get back on track, I know it’s sometimes hard to get out of a rut. I have to say my January has been very slow-going in terms of reading.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2015 by in Back to the Classics Challenge, Reading Events and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

