ebookclassics

Bookish Jennifer Lawrence

jlaw

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 will probably be forgotten now that Star Wars: The Force Awakens has hit the screens, but you can still catch Jennifer Lawrence this holiday season in the movie, Joy, as a single mom who creates the Miracle Mop (co-starring Bradley Cooper, a reoccurring theme in this post).

JLaw is super-talented and surely has the greatest range out of all the young actresses in Hollywood right now. Here are a few JLaw movies based on books to put on your holiday playlist.

Silver Linings Playbook (2012) based on the book by Matthew Quick. Jen plays Tiffany Maxwell, a widow with an extreme personality to match Bradley Cooper’s Pat, a man denying he has bipolar disease. I enjoyed this movie and thought Jen and Brad had tons of chemistry when their characters weren’t annoying the heck out of me.

X-Men: First Class (2011) and X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014) based on the popular Marvel comic book character. Jen takes over from Rebecca Romijn to play shape-shifter Mystique in her younger days. I didn’t love Mystique in these movies, but thought Jen worked with the material she had. Apparently the make-up process took 8 hours every day.

Serena (2014) based on the book by Ron Rash. In yet another movie with Bradley Cooper, Jen plays ice-cold Serena Pemberton who is ruthless in her drive to get what she wants. I haven’t seen the movie, but I really liked the book and was sorry the movie didn’t get more attention.

The Hunger Games (2012) and ending with Mockingjay Part 2 (2015). Even though I haven’t read the series (I know I should get on that), I adore Katniss Everdeen as much as any other fan. I think Jennifer Lawrence’s performance in the movie series has solidified the character as an icon.

Pop Quiz: Name another Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper movie.

Have you seen these movies or read the books? What is your favourite Jennifer Lawrence movie? Can you think of a better Jennifer Lawrence/Bradley Cooper moniker than LawCoop?

16 comments on “Bookish Jennifer Lawrence

  1. elissalynch
    December 22, 2015

    I like your review style, EbookClassics. Very authentic :). Would love to feature your reviews in our weekly curated email digest that goes out to thousands of people.

    Like

  2. jennielyse
    December 22, 2015

    I’ve seen all the movies you listed, except Serena. I didn’t even know it existed. And, the only other JLaw and Bradley Cooper movie I can think of is American Hustle.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 23, 2015

      American Hustle is the only one I can think of as well. Did you like it? I fell asleep, although I admired Bradley Cooper’s curly hair.

      Like

  3. Cecilia
    December 22, 2015

    I think their new movie out right now is called Joy or something like that?? I’m hoping to catch it! I loved Silver Linings Playbook (only saw the movie) and I think they’re a hot pair to watch 😉
    I was very intrigued by the storyline of Serena but was disappointed to know the movie got panned. I do have the book, which has mixed but better reviews. I may try to read that this year.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 23, 2015

      I enjoyed reading Serena because there was an innocent character I was rooting for and Serena was very animal-like and almost supernatural as a character. I look forward to hearing what you think.

      Like

      • Cecilia
        December 23, 2015

        I’m so glad you liked it! I will definitely aim to get to it in the new year.

        Like

  4. Naomi
    December 22, 2015

    I haven’t seen all her movies, but in the ones I have seen, I don’t think I have ever seen her give a real smile You know, with her eyes. Does she ever get to smile for real in any of her movies? Maybe in this new one – it is called “Joy”, after all. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 23, 2015

      She definitely smiles in some of her movies, although I feel that she doesn’t smile very much in the Hunger Games. When you see her in interviews, she’s always laughing and joking around.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi
        December 24, 2015

        Oh, good – that makes me feel better. 🙂

        Like

  5. Brian Joseph
    December 23, 2015

    Though I think that I would like some of these science fiction/fantasy/comic book films I am so very busy these days that I have not seen any of them.

    Thus I do not think that I have seen any Jennifer Lawrence films. Of the movies that you have listed I most likely will see Serena. I have heard that it is very good.

    Sadly I may need to leave the others for retirement 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 23, 2015

      I think that is an excellent plan and hopefully we are all still blogging to share our thoughts.

      Like

  6. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    December 24, 2015

    Oh wow, did Serena come out already! I remember hearing about it and thinking I should pick up the book sometime, but I never did. It’s sad it didn’t get more attention. JLaw was perfect to feature for this – she is so talented as an actress – it’s exciting to see her do so many different things. Probably her more popular films – Hunger Games and the X-Men films are my favorite of hers though!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 31, 2015

      Serena is definitely an older character and with a very different depth than Katniss or Raven. I made me think of how JLaw was cast in American Hustle because that character seemed older too and I wonder what attracts her to those parts.

      Like

  7. jessicabookworm
    December 26, 2015

    I think Jennifer Lawrence is a wonderful, young actress. I have loved all the films I have seen her in – she is rapidly becoming one of those actors I will watch any film they are in. From your list the only one I haven’t seen is Serena (2014).

    p.s. I haven’t seen it but I think Lawrence and Cooper are in American Hustle (2014) together.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 22, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

