ebookclassics

Book to Movie Challenge 2016 – January Mini-Reviews

reviews

* CONTAINS SPOILERS

Cinderella (2015) starring Lily James and Richard Madden and based on Cendrillon by Charles Perrault

I read the Brothers Grimm version of Cinderella a few years ago and was underwhelmed, most likely because I had internalized the Disney version of the story as a child and knew that story front to back. This live action reboot by Disney of their own 1950 classic captured all of the sweetness and charm of the animated movie without overdoing the bibbidi bobbidi boo. I smiled like an idiot throughout the whole thing and utterly adored it.

4/5 Stars

* * *

Oz the Great and Powerful (2013) starring James Franco and Mila Kunis and based on the Oz novels by L. Frank Baum

Another Disney movie that’s visually stunning and magical in its special effects, I remember the reviews were mixed about Oz the Great and Powerful, but I thought the story was entertaining. I haven’t read any of the Oz books, but always thought I should at least read The Wizard of Oz. I loved the 1939 movie with Judy Garland and watched it over and over as a child.  I still get choked up when I hear Somewhere Over the Rainbow.

3/5 Stars

* * *

Sherlock: The Abominable Bride (2016) starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman and based on the short story, The Adventure of the Musgrave Ritual and others by Arthur Conan Doyle

The annual Christmas special was a thrilling combination of Sherlock dealing with the trauma of his showdown with Moriarity and time-travelling in his mind palace to Victorian London to solve the mystery of a dead bride who keeps reappearing. This episode was sensational giving us a riveting story that took elements from several short stories, humourously played with the Sherlock Holmes myth, and had some tender moments between Holmes and Watson. Without a doubt, this episode was written for fans of the whole Sherlock Holmes universe. The ending was a little hokey, but overall, I loved every minute of it and think it’s time to re-read the short stories.

5/5 Stars

Do you have a book to movie review, discussion post or any thoughts to share? Comment or link-up below! 

12 comments on “Book to Movie Challenge 2016 – January Mini-Reviews

  1. Brian Joseph
    January 10, 2016

    I so wish that I had more time for film.

    I also want to read at least one of the Oz books. The 1939 move was in my opinion one of the greatest films ever made.

    I have not seen Oz the Great and Powerful. I will give it a try if I get the chance.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 10, 2016

      I know it’s hard when life is so busy, but you’ve chosen to read instead which I think is just as good if not better. I go through periods where I don’t watch anything and then periods of bingeing on TV and movies. But I usually have to sacrifice of bit of sleep to do that. I think I’m definitely going to read The Wizard of Oz at some point.

      Like

  2. jessicabookworm
    January 10, 2016

    I will soon have a post for you 🙂 I also watched Sherlock: The Abominable Bride and I thought it was fascinating. I didn’t love, but I did enjoy Oz the Great and Powerful I have to agree it is visually stunning! And I am really looking to seeing this newer version of Cinderella; hopefully I will be able to share my thoughts soon.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2016

      No worries! I’ve been pretty busy and have been finding it hard to blog these days. I look forward to reading your post.

      Like

  3. Naomi
    January 10, 2016

    I see and hear about Sherlock everywhere these days – it’s making me really feel like I’m missing out (which I probably am).
    I have always loved Cinderella, but have not always admitted to loving it. My mother made good and sure her daughters knew that stories like that do not really happen. But, maybe that just made me hope for it even more. I don’t know. But that new movie looks so good, and it’s one I can watch with the kids so I might even get to see it!
    I also love Wizard of Oz. And, that one was okay with my mother because there wasn’t anything in it about falling in love at first sight when just barely 18, wearing a beautiful dress, and living happily ever after. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2016

      I really like Sherlock because Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman have really good chemistry. It’s a funny and charming show. I also like Elementary but it’s very American in its style.

      I understand what you are saying about your mother making sure you understood that life isn’t a fairy tale. But there’s still something irresistible about girl-meets-boy stories.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi
        January 20, 2016

        I agree. 🙂
        I used to make my mom crazy just by telling her all I wanted to do was get married and have babies. She hated that!

        Like

  4. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    January 13, 2016

    I completely missed that Cinderella movie. I just watched the trailer, and now I might have to watch it with Kid#1, who will be just completely in love with it. If there’s not too much singing, then I might just be able to stand all that sweetness. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2016

      You’re in luck because there’s not much singing in Cinderella at all. I think there was one or two songs. It’s a sweet movie, but not too sweet. Enjoy!

      Like

  5. Christine
    January 25, 2016

    I feel like The Wizard of Oz is one of those rare occasions where the movie is legitimately better than the book. I read the book ages ago, and while I rather enjoyed it for what it was, it lacks the depth and psychological resonance of the movie. Also, by the way, the slippers in the book are silver, not ruby.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 25, 2016

      That’s so interesting! I can’t imagine the story without those iconic ruby slippers. I still want a pair of ruby slippers after all these years. 🙂

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Now reading

and …

and …

