ebookclassics

February With Friends

February

* * *

Hello friends! Can you believe January is coming to an end? I had a painfully slow reading month. For instance, it feels like I’ve been listening to Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol audio book forever! I’m a fan of Robert Langdon, but this story is so mediocre, I’m embarrassed Robert got caught up in it.

But next month should be action-packed and I’m calling it February With Friends because most of the books I will be reading will be with blogger friends. I can’t think of a better way of shaking the February blahs.

Franzen in February – The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen (2001)

If you’re a fan or have ever been curious about this critically acclaimed (yet a disaster in the media) author, this reading event hosted by Franzen Friend Laura from Reading in Bed is for you. Last year I read his new novel Purity and for the event I will be reading The Corrections which won the National Book Award in 2001 and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize in 2002.

The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank (1947)

I had this book on my mind because of the controversy surrounding the book’s recent entry into the public domain. I read The Diary of Anne Frank when I was young, but only remember it made me profoundly sad. I will be reading the book with Arianna from Shelfnotes.com. Check out the blog she shares with Amber, it’s awesome and I always learn about so many good books.

Roughing It in the Bush by Susanna Moodie (1852)

I don’t know what it is about pioneer stories that fascinates me. It was cold, it was hard, we were starving… Maybe because I like survival stories. Maybe because it’s a large part of our North American heritage. When I read Nellie McClung’s biography last year and the author mentioned she was a big fan of this book, I immediately wanted to read it too. I’ll be reading this one with two good blogger friends, TJ from My Book Strings and Naomi from Consumed With Ink.

Little Women Read-Along – Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Even though I really enjoyed participating in her North and South read-along, unfortunately I won’t be joining Jenni and her co-hosts for this event. But I will be following the discussions posts and may try to jump into one of the Twitter chats. It’s not too late, sign-up for the Little Women Read-Along on Jenni’s blog!

What are you reading in February?

13 comments on “February With Friends

  1. Naomi
    January 30, 2016

    I’ve been wanting to read Roughing It In the Bush for so long, but now I’m glad I kept putting it off – I’ll have some good company when I read it. 🙂
    I wasn’t aware of the Anne Frank controversy – interesting…
    Franzen in February sounds like it’s going to be fun. I probably won’t be reading any Franzen, but I will be following along. I hope you like The Corrections! That’s the one that I read a few years ago, but have no recollection of. Weird.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 1, 2016

      I started reading Roughing It in the Bush this weekend. What I find the most interesting at the moment is her description of how other immigrants with their boorish behaviour kept ruining her enjoyment of the natural beauty of the land.

      I seem to read a lot of books I also can’t recollect years later. Does that mean something?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi
        February 1, 2016

        Oh, good, it’s not just me. I don’t know what it means. I used to think it meant the book wasn’t meaningful enough to me to be memorable, but it could also be the circumstances during which we read it? Rushed, maybe? Or a lot of other stuff going on in our lives at the time?

        I read the first few pages of Roughing It last night. Already, I’m curious about her brother’s book…

        Like

  2. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    January 30, 2016

    I’m ready to leave a mediocre January behind and dive into Roughing It in the Bush (and the Little Women read-along, for that matter). February with friends is a great title!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 1, 2016

      January was terrible, wasn’t it? I’m so glad to hear you signed-up for the Little Women read-along. Here’s to a fabulous February for all of us!

      Like

  3. jessicabookworm
    January 31, 2016

    January also seemed a slow month for me – I seemed to reads lots but not finish a great deal. I’m sorry to hear that The Last Symbol isn’t do it for you. It is definitely my least favourite of the Langdon adventures, because the setting just didn’t grab me like the ancient history of Europe. In February I just hope to finish more books! I hope you enjoy your February with Friends 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 1, 2016

      I still have four chapters of The Lost Symbol to go! I may listen to a novella next. You’re right, the location of the story wasn’t very exciting. Also, I didn’t really care about saving the life of Robert’s friend who is rich, privileged, and involved in a secret brotherhood.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jennielyse
    February 1, 2016

    Oh yay! I do hope you jump in on one of the Twitter chats. 😀 We’d love to have you even if you’re not doing the read-along with us!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 2, 2016

      I’m definitely going to try to jump in. It was so much fun last time!

      Like

  5. DoingDewey
    February 4, 2016

    This sounds like such a fun plan for the month! I love reading books with other bloggers too 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 4, 2016

      I think February is going to be a good month. You have so many interesting events taking place on your blog this month too. Although it’s my goal to participate more in Non-Fiction Fridays this year.

      Like

  6. lauratfrey
    February 10, 2016

    A little slow on the uptake here – I love the variety of books you’re getting with these events. Autobiography, CanLit Classic, modern classic (IMO, lol)… I don’t think you’ll get bored this month.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 10, 2016

      A lot of holds for The Corrections at my library, so I may end up reading Jennifer Weiner while I wait. In Her Shoes any good? Or other suggestions?

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Now reading

and …

and …

