ebookclassics

Book to Movie Challenge 2016 – February Check-in and Oscar Nominations

movie

Hi friends! What are your book to movie plans for February? Last month we had some great posts, check them out below:

The Bookworm Chronicles
Just One More Chapter

Share your book to movie reviews and discussions posts using the linky below. Posts count towards prizes throughout the year, as does commenting on posts.

* * *

The 88th Academy Awards (or the Oscars) are just around the corner on Sunday, February 28th. A whole whack of book to movie adaptations has been nominated for awards, including the following for Best Picture:

The Big Short based on the book by Michael Lewis
Bridge of Spies based on the book Strangers on a Bridge by James Donovan
Brooklyn based on the novel by Colm Tóibín
The Martian based on the novel by Andy Weird
The Revenant based on the book? by Michael Punke
Room based on the novel by Emma Donoghue
Spotlight based on the book by the Investigative Staff at the Boston Globe

For the full list of nominees, visit the Oscars website.

For a list of other book adaptions up for an Oscar, visit CBC Books.

Have you read any of these books or seen the movie? I’ve only seen The Martian, but my guess is The Revenant will be a big winner. What movie do you think will win best picture? Take my poll or comment below.

16 comments on “Book to Movie Challenge 2016 – February Check-in and Oscar Nominations

  1. Naomi
    February 5, 2016

    Since I haven’t seen ANY of these movies, I couldn’t even attempt to know which is going to win. (I might vote in your poll anyway, just for fun!)
    I would like to see several of these movies, especially The Big Short (who knew I would want to see a movie about economics, but people seem to love it), The Martian, and The Revenant. A lot of movies based on books this year!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 5, 2016

      Have you read anything by Michael Lewis? I have Flash Boys at home. I would like to see all of these movies, but for reading I think The Revenant and Brooklyn are at the top of my list.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi
        February 6, 2016

        Flash Boys doesn’t appeal to me (right now), but maybe you could change my mind… 🙂

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          February 8, 2016

          I can’t tell if I will like it, so we’ll see. My husband said it was okay, but I’m not sure if he actually finished the book.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    February 5, 2016

    Not surprisingly, I haven’t seen any of these movies either. From what I’ve heard, I agree with you that The Revenant seems like a likely winner, although the one that I’d like to read and watch is Brooklyn.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 5, 2016

      Have you read anything by Colm Tóibín before? I read The Testament of Mary last year. I think I will try to read Brooklyn before I see the movie.

      Like

      • TJ @ MyBookStrings
        February 8, 2016

        I have not. In fact, I had never even heard the name before last year’s Reading Ireland event.

        Like

  3. jessicabookworm
    February 5, 2016

    I have linked up another adaptations post 🙂 I haven’t read any of these books or watched the films nominated but I agree with you; I think The Revenant has a very good chance of winning.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 5, 2016

      I can’t wait to read your post! Leo won the SAG Award for Best Actor. Do you think he’ll with this one?

      Like

      • jessicabookworm
        February 9, 2016

        I haven’t watched The Revenant yet but going on previous performances he deserves an Oscar!

        Like

  4. lauratfrey
    February 7, 2016

    Yeah, callin’ it for The Revenant. I would love to see Brooklyn and Room. Though I might hold off on Brooklyn till I read it.

    As you know, I watched Emma and Anna Karenina last month. If I can get it together and post, I shall link up 🙂 If I get a chance to watch any movies this month… I might check out an adaptation of Persuasion, as I’m just finishing it on audio (I read it a few years ago) and was reminded of why it’s my favourite Austen,

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 8, 2016

      I forgot about Room! I want to watch that one too. I watched the 2007 BBC version of Persuasion last year and it was pretty good.

      Like

  5. Sarah
    February 8, 2016

    I agree, I think the Revenant is going to win. (And fingers crossed Leonardo DiCaprio finally wins an Oscar too.) But the only movie I’ve seen from this list as the Martian. So I’m rooting for it to win. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 8, 2016

      I agree The Martian was a good movie, but I was surprised it received so many nominations. They normally ignore this kind of movie.

      Like

      • Sarah
        February 10, 2016

        So true, normally science fiction movies are left by the wayside, no matter how good they are. It’s nice to see them finally getting some recognition.

        Like

  6. jessicabookworm
    February 27, 2016

    I have just linked up my latest adaptation post 🙂

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2016 by in Reviews and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

