ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – Gillian Anderson

gillianCelebrities in Classics is a regular feature where I highlight the classic novel adaptations my favourite actors have starred in.

WHO IS IT? Fresh from watching both The X-Files reboot and War and Peace, I can’t help thinking of all the great shows Gillian Anderson has starred in lately, including The Fall and Hannibal.

WHAT’S SO FASCINATING? Back in the 90s, Gillian Anderson as Agent Dana Scully in The X-Files was probably the ideal woman to every sci-fi geek. Extremely intelligent, tough and yet incredibly soft and feminine in her manners. Heck, even I had a crush on her. From her eyes to her voice to her elegant yet commanding presence, there has always been something special about Gillian Anderson.

FIRST ENCOUNTER: The X-Files, of course! Right from the very first episode.

FAVOURITE (CLASSICS) CHARACTER: I thought her interpretation of Miss Havisham in Great Expectations was wonderful.

CLASSIC BOOK FILMOGRAPHY

2000 ~ The House of Mirth ~ Lily Bart
2005 ~ Bleak House ~ Lady Dedlock
2011 ~ Moby Dick ~ Elizabeth
2011 ~ Great Expectations ~ Miss Havisham
2014 ~ National Theatre’s A Streetcar Named Desire ~ Blanche DuBois
2016 ~ War and Peace ~ Anna Pavlovna Scherer

To see Gillian’s full filmography, visit Wikipedia.

FUN FACT: Gillian was the first woman to host Masterpiece since the show began in 1971.

GREAT QUOTE on Miss Havisham: “There was a curiosity there for me. Also reading the scripts and appreciating the adaptation but then also going back and reading Great Expectations and kind of falling in love with her complexities. I don’t know how much of that was about falling in love with my interpretation of her, or what I was getting off the page of the script.

Have you seen Gillian Anderson in any of these adaptations? Or are you a fan of any of her TV shows?

15 comments on “Celebrities in Classics – Gillian Anderson

  1. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    February 25, 2016

    I’m a fan of Gillian from the X-Files for sure!! I totally agree with your description of her as Scully. 😀 Surprisingly for me though, I realize I haven’t watched any of her period dramas. Which is crazy, since I’ve heard amazing things about her. I’m curious about the Dickens adaptations especially, so must check out Great Expectations since you loved her in it!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2016

      Great Expectations is really good. I haven’t seen Bleak House, but I’m going to try and read the book first.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    February 25, 2016

    I have wanted to watch Bleak House since I read the book about 5 years ago! Thanks for reminding me. And I didn’t know that Moby Dick had even been made – I think I’ll watch that instead of reading the book. 🙂
    I had no idea Gillian Anderson was in all of these (surprised?).

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2016

      Moby Dick was interesting because she plays Ahab’s wife and there were scenes with the two of them that I don’t believe were in the novel.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Brian Joseph
    February 25, 2016

    I am a bog X – Files fan. Gillian Anderson and the character that she helped create on that program are extraordinary.

    I am also a fan of her work in films based on Classic Literature. In particular he portrayal of Lily Bart is a must see. I have not seen War and Peace yet.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2016

      I still haven’t read House of Mirth or anything by Edith Wharton. I will have to do something about that.

      Like

  4. citygirlscapes
    February 25, 2016

    I just watched the finale of the X-Files reboot last night (there’s going to be more, right? I want more! How could they end it like that?! so many feelings), I am such a huge Gillian Anderson fan. Scully is such a great character. I haven’t seen her in any of those adaptations, though I didn’t realize there were so many. I’m interested in checking out War and Peace, that sounds interesting. Great post! – ashley

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2016

      I find The X-Files ending really stunning because we have no idea if they’re going to come back and tell us what happened! War and Peace is exactly the epic drama you would expect from a famous classic book.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. jessicabookworm
    February 25, 2016

    I really enjoyed Bleak House, Great Expectations, Hannibal and I’ve just finished War and Peace. I have to agree with you that Gillian’s performance as Miss Havisham was brilliant!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2016

      You are always on top of all the adaptations, I love it. What did you think of War and Peace?

      Liked by 1 person

      • jessicabookworm
        February 26, 2016

        I thought War and Peace was a beautiful series with a great cast. I haven’t read the book though so can’t compare it. My next adaptation post will be up Saturday 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. lauratfrey
    February 25, 2016

    Bleak House is the shit. I really really need to watch The House of Mirth, as it’s one of my favourite books.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 25, 2016

      I need to read both books, but chances are I’ll watch the movie first.

      Like

  7. DoingDewey
    March 1, 2016

    I’ve actually not watched any of the shows or movies you mention, but I do love Gillian Anderson! I thought she was especially awesome in the Netflix series, The Fall.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 2, 2016

      You might find the science in The X-Files a little nutty, but fun I always see The Fall on Netflix and can never make up my mind if I should watch it or not. I heard Gillian Anderson and Jamie Dornan have really good chemistry.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Now reading

and …

and …

