ebookclassics

Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon – This Saturday!

 

Readathon
One of my favourite signs of Spring is when it’s #Readathon time. This will be my fourth year participating, although probably not as intensely as I’m going to a Blue Jays baseball game that day with my family. Coincidentally, Indigo Books is hosting #CanadaBookDay, so I made sure to add some Canadian content to my reading. I’m also a Twitter cheerleader, so check my blog and @ebookclassics feed to see if I’m actually getting any reading done this Saturday.

the liarThe Liar by Nora Roberts – Testing out our discussion on whether popular books provide somewhat of a guaranteed “good” read. I’ve never read anything by Nora Roberts and rarely any thrillers, so this should be interesting. Laura will be the book reading too, so I look forward to her good company during the Readathon.

 

 

drowned worldThe Drowned World by J.G. Ballard – I’m about half-way through the book and it’s been both fascinating and creepy the way civilization is dying at a snail’s pace in the background and the main character is psychically transforming into some kind of animal that does nothing except simply exist.

 

 

giverThe Giver by Lois Lowry – This YA classic is on my Back to the Classics reading list. I’m a few chapters into the story and very intrigued to see what this dystopian world is all about. I’ve also been curious for years about who is the old man on the book cover.

 

 

Dino BaseballDino Baseball by Lisa Wheeler – It will be my youngest son’s first baseball game and we’re not sure how long he will last. A few picture books may encourage him to watch a few more innings.

 

 

kayakKayak – Canada’s History Magazine for Kids – A birthday gift my oldest son received that I enjoy too! This first issue we received was about the Suffragette movement in Canada and I fell in love. Full of comics, essays, games and activities, the magazine has been a great way of learning more Canadian history.

 

 

adventures of lovelaceThe Thrilling Adventures of Ada Lovelace and Babbage by Sydney Padua – In 1842, Charles Babbage and Ada, the Countess of Lovelace attempt to build a calculating machine. An alternative history graphic novel by Canadian author and artist Sydney Padua as a homage to the real Babbage and Lovelace whose work was a precursor to computers and programming.

 

Have you read any of these books? What are you reading for the Readathon?

12 comments on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon – This Saturday!

  1. Brown Books and Green Tea
    April 21, 2016

    I just blogged about this! I still don’t know what I’m reading, which is awful. I’m trying to get a good mix of genres, which is proving difficult. But I have my cookies ready to snack on!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 22, 2016

      Ooh, I forgot about the snacks. I most likely will be eating popcorn and chocolate cake. Good luck with you’re reading, I’ll be following along with your progress.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lauratfrey
    April 21, 2016

    Nice. I’ll either just read The Liar, or alternate with The Diviners… and maybe something else? I’m also going to take the kids to a comic book store, so maybe I’ll pick something up there too!

    Like

    • lauratfrey
      April 21, 2016

      Oh and I like how you count kid’s stuff! I will do that too, in which case it’ll probably be a couple chapters of The Wizard of Oz and some insufferable Ninjago book 🙂

      Like

      • ebookclassics
        April 22, 2016

        I picked up The Liar today! Did you mom finish the book, LOL? Yeah, I usually read a stack of kids books as part of the readathon. I’m sure I’ll be reading some Ninjago too.

        Like

  3. Lovelace and Babbage is (are?) terrific! i spent the better part of a day reading it myself because it was too much fun to stop. Have a great time with your readathon!

    Like

  4. Naomi
    April 21, 2016

    A fun mix of books! The Giver is so good – I hope you love it. My son just had it read to him in school this year and he liked it, but he didn’t like the ending. The ending is a bit frustrating, but there are 3 more books to make it better!
    The Lovelace and Babbage book sounds good, and I’ll be interested in hearing how The Liar works out for you!
    Have fun at the baseball game!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 22, 2016

      Some of the concepts in The Giver’s world I find fascinating and I want to see where it leads the main character. I recall hearing something controversial about the ending, but don’t remember what it is, so I guess that’s a good thing. Is your son planning to read the rest of The Giver books?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi
        April 22, 2016

        Hopefully eventually. He doesn’t read a lot on his own, but I’m hoping he’ll let me read those ones to him.

        Like

  5. I signed up for the first time ever like 5 minutes ago. I’m excited. I’ve never ready for 24 hours straight before. It should be fun.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 22, 2016

      Yay! Do you know what you’re going to read? I look forward to reading your posts.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Now reading

and …

and …

