ebookclassics

Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon – The Aftermath

Readathon

I’m smiling as I write this post because my reading results for the Readathon are pathetic (a measly 302 pages with only 1 book finished), but I had an amazing time! Since I was a cheerleader, I probably spent way to much time on Twitter blabbing, but that was fun too. I talked to so many new-to-me bloggers. It also didn’t help that most of the day was taken up with the Blue Jays Game.

I understand when people say they don’t get readathons because they already read as much as they can every day. But there’s something about the community spirit and party atmosphere of Readathon that I find both energizing and inspiring. Yes, I could stay home and cheer for the Blue Jays, but when you’re in the stadium with the crowd cheering, high-fiving and stuffing your face with popcorn it’s the best high. That’s what the Readathon is like just with book bloggers.

How was your Readathon? Did you meet all of your reading goals?

 

12 comments on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon – The Aftermath

  1. Brown Books and Green Tea
    April 24, 2016

    I didnt really meet my goals but I’m so happy I did it. Now I know more tricks for next time!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 24, 2016

      Are you going to participate in October? There’s definitely some strategies I ignored this time around and as a result I didn’t get as much reading done. I don’t think I will volunteer to be a cheerleader again.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome description! This was my first time joining in. I didn’t get much read because I was too distracted by reading with friends. But, I had an awesome time and now see why people participate in this readathon. I’ll definitely be joining in in October. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 24, 2016

      So happy to hear you enjoyed your first time. Doing it with friends sounds like so much fun even if you don’t get as much reading accomplished.

      Like

  3. Naomi
    April 24, 2016

    So glad you had fun (in the readathon *and* at the game)! And, good analogy!
    I have to ask: which book did you get read?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 24, 2016

      I finished The Drowned World, but I already had read half the book. I was so close to finishing The Giver, but didn’t drink enough caffeine and couldn’t stay awake. But I finished the book today! It was so interesting, I’m tempted to continue the series.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi
        April 24, 2016

        You should, if you liked it! I liked them all, and they’re pretty quick to read. 🙂

        Like

  4. Brian Joseph
    April 24, 2016

    Congratulations on completing another Read – A Thon. Participating seems like so much fun. I really want to join in some year. Hopefully next year I will.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 24, 2016

      The next one is in October if you think you might want to give it a try. 🙂

      Like

  5. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    April 26, 2016

    Aw, I still haven’t given a readathon a try, but I’m probably more in the camp that I read as much as I can. But the camaraderie sounds fun, I still would like to do it! Just chatting on twitter with other participants would be nice. 😀

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 27, 2016

      I think you would really enjoy the spirit of the readathon. It’s not really about how much you read, but participating as a community in the fun and supporting each other.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2016 by in Reviews and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

