ebookclassics

2016 Book Blogger Discussion Challenge – Celebrity Book Clubs

2016-Discussion-Challenge

You may have caught on from my blog posts that I enjoy following celebrities. As a child, I pretty much went from obsessing over Zeus, Athena and Ares to the Brad, Angelina and Jennifer triangle. Greek gods to Hollywood gods. While Oprah’s Book Club is the OG, I used to be excited when other celebrities started their own book clubs only to now roll my eyes when I hear about the latest celebrity to share a book list.

What do you think? Let’s take a quick look at some of them:

reeceReece Witherspoon #RWBookClub who has selected books such as Wild by Cheryl Strayed, All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr and Little Big Lies by Liane Moriarity. I think Reece genuinely loves to read, but is also a smart business woman marrying her love of books with her career as an actor. She has been quoted in the media for saying she didn’t see movie roles that appealed to her, so she went looking for them.

emmaEmma Watson’s #OurSharedShelf that has included books such as My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem, The Color Purple by Alice Walker and How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran. Emma tweeted that as a UN Goodwill Ambassador she was interested in learning as much as possible about women’s issues.

mark Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook’s CEO, started a book club based on his interest in connecting people and raising awareness of “different cultures, beliefs, histories, and technologies.” His book club includes The Muqaddimah by Ibn Khaldun, The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander and Why Nations Fail by Daron Acemoglu and James A. Robinson.

andrewluckAndrew Luck is the current quarterback for the Indianapolis Colts NFL football team and started his #ALBookClub book club to share his love of books and promote literacy to fans. His current picks are Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli for a “rookie” younger reader and The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown for “veteran” seasoned readers.

What are your thoughts? Do you follow any celebrity book clubs?

14 comments on “2016 Book Blogger Discussion Challenge – Celebrity Book Clubs

  1. lauratfrey
    April 28, 2016

    Totally rolling my eyes! I went down a rabbit hole of reading Bill Gate’s book reviews once, though I don’t think it was a club, per se.

    I mean, start a book blog, guys.

    Also, this: https://www.the-pool.com/arts-culture/books/2016/8/marie-phillips-tried-to-read-like-mark-zuckerberg-for-a-day

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 28, 2016

      Hilarious! I usually pay attention to what Mark Zuckerberg and Bill Gates recommend, but I don’t think I’ve actually read anything they recommended.

      Like

    • Naomi
      April 28, 2016

      His dog!

      Like

  2. I follow celebrities, but I follow them for different reasons. I’m pretty much an online stalker. I just like to know what they’re up to. If I happen to see them reading something, then I’ll check it out if I haven’t heard of it. But, for the most part, celebrity endorsements do nothing for me.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 28, 2016

      I do enjoy seeing photos of celebrities toting their latest book around or when US magazine shows us the inside of someone’s purse and it usually includes a book. But I always wonder how staged it is. I would probably read from Reece Witherspoon’s book list because I like the book she chooses.

      Like

  3. Naomi
    April 28, 2016

    I don’t follow their book clubs, but I do always like to know what other people are reading, whether I know them or not. It often says a little bit about someone..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Brian Joseph
    April 29, 2016

    There are celebrities whose book clubs include lots of books that I think that I would find worthwhile. Emma Watson is great example of that.

    My issue is time. There is so much that I want top read and so little time to read.

    I do like to see what is on the lists however.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 4, 2016

      I thought Emma Watson would have an interesting list, but I’m curious about her reaction to How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran.

      Like

  5. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    April 29, 2016

    I don’t follow any celebrity book clubs, though I certainly like their idea of supporting literacy. Mark Zuckerberg is obviously not human, because how can he run Facebook and read all of those weird books?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 4, 2016

      Ha ha, I also wondered how Mark Zuckerberg had time to read those weird books! I also like when celebrities support literacy and are genuinely interested in books.

      Like

  6. AJ Sterkel
    April 29, 2016

    Interesting. I didn’t know that celebrities had book clubs. I don’t follow celebrities at all, probably because I rarely watch TV or movies. If the celebrities are promoting literacy, then the book clubs are probably a good thing.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 4, 2016

      Some media outlets also have book clubs, such as the Wall Street Journal and Wired magazine. I think the WSJ book club is hosted every month by a different author and they pick the book to read.

      Like

  7. I’ve never followed any celebrity book clubs before – but I could totally see how this would be really fun if you were a fan!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 4, 2016

      Since we’re always looking for good book recommendations, I guess it doesn’t hurt to see what famous people are reading. They have a hot scoop on a book we don’t know about.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Now reading

and …

and …

