ebookclassics

Armchair BEA 2016 – Introduction

armchair

Apologies, but my Armchair BEA posts will most likely be delayed and my participation spotty because I just got a new puppy (and reading buddy) and it’s like caring for a third child!

1. What is the name you prefer to use?

C.J.

2. How long have you been a book blogger?

Four years … I think. Mind is slowly going.

3. Have you participated in ABEA before?

This will be my third year participating.

4. Do you have a favorite book?

Right now, my favourite book is Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. The book has everything I could ever want in a great read: a dramatic setting; unforgettable characters, a riveting plot. I adore Scarlett O’Hara in all her catty, selfish ways, but also admire her rebelliousness and how she defied society’s expectations of her to become independent and control her own destiny.

5. What is your favorite genre and why?

I don’t have a favourite genre, but I mostly read literary fiction. I would like to read more fantasy because I loved it so much growing up, but it’s like kryptonite whenever I touch it. I quickly lose my reading powers and can’t get through even a few pages.

6. Which day of ABEA are you looking forward to the most?

I always enjoy introductions because it’s a great way of getting to know other bloggers even if you’ve been following them for awhile.

7. What book are you most excited for on your TBR? What are you most intimidated by?

The book I’m most excited about right now is Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay by Elena Ferrante, the third book in the series. The book I’m most intimidated by that I’m contemplating reading this year is Ulysses by James Joyce. Anyone want to do a read-along and hold my hand?

8. What is the most interesting thing that you have learned through your reading this year so far?

The most interesting thing I’ve learned is that I’m still afraid to DNF a book out of some bewildering, guilt complex. Even if the book is obviously a struggle to read. Even if there are a million books waiting for me to read that are probably better. I always feel like I owe the book a second/third/fourth chance.

Are you participating in Armchair BEA this year or are you lucky enough to be in Chicago?

19 comments on “Armchair BEA 2016 – Introduction

  1. lauratfrey
    May 12, 2016

    So… you’re gonna finish The Liar, then? 🙂

    And OH MY GOD puppy!!! What is his name?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 12, 2016

      No, I can’t read it and will DNF. And ever since we talked about ghostwriters and I’m pretty sure this book was written with some kind of formula.

      Her name is Shelby and she’s adorable, but I can’t take my eyes off of her for a second. She’s either peeing on the floor, sneaking upstairs, chasing cats or shredding something.

      Like

      • Naomi
        May 12, 2016

        I was wondering how you made out with The Liar… 🙂

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          May 14, 2016

          I think I’m going to try one of her older novels. Something produced before she became a book-producing machine. Maybe one of her J.D. Robb novels?

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Your puppy is really cute! 🙂

    I had a hard time dnfing books too until a few years ago when it contributed to a HUGE reading slump. Now, I’m not so afraid. Although, there are some books that I put on a “come back to later” list because I realize that it’s just my mood at that time contributing to the slow read.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 12, 2016

      I have a “come back later” list too, but realistically I’m not sure if I’ll ever get around to reading them.

      Like

  3. Naomi
    May 12, 2016

    Puppies are just as much work as kids, but the good news is that they grow up a lot faster. Although, our dog is now 2 and we still can’t leave him alone with the laundry, the compost, or the garbage. Hopefully yours will grow out of it – I think it’s too late for ours.

    Like

  4. A.M.B.
    May 12, 2016

    Your puppy is adorable!

    Gone With the Wind is an amazing novel. I enjoyed it much more than I expected I would. I convinced my husband to read it too, and in his review on my blog he said: “Having just finished the novel, I wish there were another thousand pages to read.” I agree with him!

    Like

  5. Enjoy your puppy! I am not a dog person but I am happy to find them adorable from a distance.

    I’m seriously thinking of going to BEA next year. I will have to move heaven and earth to do it but it sounds like so much fun! Armchair BEA will have to do for now (and I do enjoy interacting with all the lovely participants).

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 14, 2016

      You will love it! It truly is a book lovers heaven. I had a wonderful time last year and I’m seriously considering making it happen next year.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Brian Joseph
    May 13, 2016

    Really neat post CJ.

    I think that not wanting to abandon a book is common with bookish folks.

    As I think you know I read Ulysses last year. I found it challenging but worthwhile. Using the various notes and annotations that are available online and in print was a huge help to me.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 14, 2016

      I always think of you when I think about taking on Ulysses. I might save that last few months of the year to try reading it. Can you recommend any particular websites or books you used?

      Like

  7. The Paperback Princess
    May 13, 2016

    A puppy!!! How exciting! What a little dumpling. Yeah, take your eyes off the little she-devil at your peril. There’s just so much to explore and destroy in this world! I sometimes miss Henrik’s puppy days and then I remember how much work it was and am so glad that he’s a chill 5 year old now.
    Enjoy the puppy breath and puppy belly though!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 14, 2016

      I totally get those minty dog biscuits now. She listens a little bit more every day, but we have a long way to go. My cats are like WTF is this creature?

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on May 12, 2016 by in Reviews and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

