ebookclassics

2016 Armchair BEA – Beyond the Books & Beyond the Blog

ArmchairBEA LogoExample

Well, I just missed the Twitter chat …

Beyond the traditional form of the novel, what are your favorite alternative forms (graphic novels, audiobooks, webcomics, etc)?

I really love comics and graphic novels, but I only read them occasionally because my appetite is for words and lots of them! Reading really stimulates my mind and gets my endorphins going (who needs exercise?), but I also enjoy the colour and action that comes with reading something highly visual.

Do you have any favorite works within these alternate forms? How do you think the changing format affects the reading experience?

I think audio books are great for squeezing in more books during the week, but I feel the actor chosen to perform the narration can make a big difference in how much I enjoy the book. For instance, I’ve heard some terrible female voices by male actors, but in other cases actors have had a wide range of accents that was very entertaining.

Our secondary topic, beyond the blog could focus on the ways you engage in talking about books outside of your blog. Do you participate in book clubs, take classes, meticulously maintain your goodreads profile?

While I enjoy participating in the book blogger community when I can, I’ve been feeling for some time that I need more face-to-face interaction and would love to join a IRL book club or take a class (and not drop out of either). Unfortunately, there’s no time right now.

How about you? How do you go beyond books or beyond the blog? 

Read all of the Armchair BEA posts on this topic.

8 comments on “2016 Armchair BEA – Beyond the Books & Beyond the Blog

  1. Naomi
    May 15, 2016

    I’m in a real life book club, but sometimes it’s disappointing. A high proportion of the group prefer formulaic books, and I just can’t muster up enthusiasm for those ones. It’s still fun, though, and worth the few good books that we read, but I still get better book discussion on-line. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 21, 2016

      I didn’t think about that side of going to a book club. Now I remember not going to some meetings because of the books chosen.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not an audiobook fan unless I’ve already read the book because I can’t concentrate on the story enough to follow along. I’ve just started diving into graphic novels and I only seem to like The Walking Dead because it’s like watching the TV show with a slightly different story line.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 21, 2016

      I started reading The Walking Dead novels, but wasn’t sure if I should continue because the TV show diverges from that storyline. Do you like one better over the other?

      Like

  3. Grace
    May 15, 2016

    I have a hard time with audiobooks. They’re okay for long car trips, but if I’m trying to listen at home or on the go, I just zone out.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 21, 2016

      I prefer listening to non-fiction like memoirs or business-type books. I think I space out a little when it comes to fiction and miss details. But the right narrator can add an element of drama and entertainment to the story and keep me more alert.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    May 18, 2016

    The narrator makes or breaks an audiobook for me, although the subject matter has to be just right, too. If it’s too engrossing, I just sit and listen and forget everything else. If it’s even just slightly boring, I lose interest and 10 minutes later wonder whether I missed anything. That’s why I only borrow audiobooks. I can quickly return them to the library.

    Like

  5. ebookclassics
    May 21, 2016

    Libraries are heaven sent! Since a lot more is involved with audiobooks for me to enjoy them, sometimes I spend way more time choosing what to listen and even then I might stop and decide to read the print book instead.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on May 14, 2016 by in Reviews and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

