ebookclassics

2016 Book Blogger Discussion Challenge – Bibliotherapy

2016-Discussion-Challenge
You may have seen the articles over the last year touting the benefits of bibliotherapy for everything from stress to chronic physical pain. I personally have had a difficult several months and have found reading very soothing even if the book wasn’t mind-blowing.

A very dear relative of mine is in the hospital and knowing they are an avid reader, I decided to put together a bookish care package. I chose some non-fiction books on their favourite topic, magazines for lighter reading, a crossword puzzle book and a bookmark. I don’t know how therapeutic my book choices will be, but my hope is the package will make their stay a little more comfortable and the long waits less tedious.

What books you would choose for a care package or tell me about the books that had a therapeutic effect on you. Do you even believe in bibilotherapy?

18 comments on “2016 Book Blogger Discussion Challenge – Bibliotherapy

  1. jessicabookworm
    June 4, 2016

    I definitely think reading is relaxing and makes me feel happier, and that care book package sounds like such a lovely idea 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 5, 2016

      I haven’t received any feedback yet on the books, but I was told they were happy to receive the care package. Everyone loves gifts!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. After my mom passed away, I fell into my books. It helped me grieve. I think bibliotherapy definitely is something good. The problem I do have is that if I’m not in the mood to read, I won’t. And, oftentimes, it’s when I’m depressed and I could use a good story the most.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 5, 2016

      I’m sorry to hear about your mom, but it’s nice hear that books were helpful. I agree that a good story is probably the best remedy for feeling down, but I know it can also be a struggle to even open a book when I’m feeling that way. That’s why I kind of love the idea of bibliotherapy and someone choosing the books and saying try this.

      Like

  3. I also find that books are excellent therapy when I’m not doing well (either physically or emotionally). I’m sure your relative will be very appreciative of your gift!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 5, 2016

      Are there any specific books that were helpful to you during the those times?

      Like

      • Hmm… Well for me that sometimes means that I want a light fluffy read. Like a sweet romance. Not sure if other people would feel the same. 😊

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          June 5, 2016

          For reasons I can’t explain, I rarely look for romance in books, but I adore romance in movies. A couple I like coming together always puts a big goofy smile on my face and makes me feel good.

          Like

  4. Brian Joseph
    June 5, 2016

    This is an interesting subject.

    For me, if I was the person under physical or mental stress, just the ability to read would be important. Some ailments get in the way of reading.

    As for choosing gifts for someone else who is ill, it really depends on the person. I think that my choices would vary greatly depending on who it is.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 5, 2016

      My former boss had eye surgery, but she’s an avid reader and didn’t want to stop reading even though it would take weeks for her eyes to recover. This is where audio books really came in handy and she listened to several books during that time.

      Like

  5. I definitely think that books can help with distraction and make the waiting/unfilled hours go by faster. A bookish package is perfect for someone in the hospital, providing pain is not the main issue. It is really hard to focus when in a lot of pain, I can tell you from experience.
    Great topic!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 5, 2016

      Distraction is exactly what I was going for and I wanted to work with knowing my relative loves to read. I did question to what degree reading can alleviate physical pain, but it’s interesting to think about it.

      Like

  6. gotmybook2
    June 5, 2016

    Both reading and watching tv have been shown to help with pain (via distraction). Interestingly enough, video games are even better since they require interaction.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 9, 2016

      Books and graphic novels that have interfaces for interactive experiences are being developed and may pave the way for books that are specifically for alleviating pain.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. lauratfrey
    June 6, 2016

    I just did a care package for someone too! I did a colouring book and pencil crayons plus a graphic novel. I wanted something fun but that could still take their mind off things. Plus I couldn’t decide on a novel.

    I don’t know if I buy the formal bibliotherapy thing or not. I have The Novel Cure and it’s a bit… silly? Like read this book for this exact problem… I don’t know. But reading *in general* is certainly healing and soothing for many.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 9, 2016

      The Novel Cure appeals to me because I like the concept, but then I wondered how the prescribed books could work with different personality types or temperaments. I think the care package worked for me because I knew my relative’s reading preferences. For other relatives, I might not be so on the mark.

      Like

  8. Naomi
    June 12, 2016

    I don’t know how I missed this post, C.J., but I hope things are going well for your relative. Have you had any feedback yet about whether or not the books were helpful/distracting? I would be interested to know how well they work for pain (although, I certainly hope your relative is not in any!).
    I love the idea of bibliotherapy in general and I also have The Novel Cure. I keep meaning to choose a book and ailment out of it just to see, but haven’t done it yet.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 23, 2016

      As a late reply, I can definitely say that my relative had a successful surgery. I haven’t spoken to them yet, so I don’t know if the books helped with their pain management. However, he read Dead Wake during that time so it’s fun to think that the book was so good, he was motivated to get back to reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2016 by in Reviews and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

