ebookclassics

Summer 2016 Reading

summer2016

Summer has arrived, but I’ve started a great new job and probably won’t be taking a vacation. However, I do have some summer reading plans lined up that I thought I would share with you.

Bex from An Armchair By the Sea is hosting a read-along of Middlemarch by George Eliot which I’m very excited to be joining, as its always more fun to read a big classic with company. Middlemarch is about a fictional town and the intersecting lives of several characters. The read-along takes place between June 27th and August 7th.

I will also be joining a read-along of the Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman July 8 to August 26 and hosted by Simon and Schuster Canada. The story is about an Australian lighthouse keeper and his young wife who discover a dead man and live infant washed ashore on a boat. This read-along is timed perfectly to coincide with the release of the movie adaptation starring Michael Fassbender and Alicia Vikander on September 2nd. Thank you Simon and Schuster Canada for the read-along invitation!

In addition, my oldest son announced to me that he wants to read Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery with me. I have no idea where this is coming from and he refused not that long ago to read the BFG by Roald Dahl with me even thought I was pretty sure he would like the story. Even if he loses interest, I think this may be a good excuse for me to finally read the whole Anne series.

UPDATE: I’ll also be joining Laura at Reading In Bed is hosting a reading of Cecilia by Frances Burney. If you’re looking for a classic that isn’t as well-known, join us!

Have you read either of these books? What are your summer reading plans?

20 comments on “Summer 2016 Reading

  1. Naomi
    June 23, 2016

    Take that chance with your son and run with it! Even my daughters have never said those wonderful words to me. (And, yes, even if he decides he doesn’t want to continue, it’s a good jump-start for you!)
    I loved The Light Between Oceans – prepare to cry!
    Enjoy the Middlemarch readalong – I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it – it’s still on my tbr. I’m tempted to join you, but I don’t think I can fit it in. Sigh.

    Like

  2. Naomi
    June 23, 2016

    And, congrats on the great new job!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 23, 2016

      Thanks so much! I’m very happy with my new move. Oh no, I didn’t realize Light Between Oceans was sad. But maybe I need a good cry.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jessicabookworm
    June 23, 2016

    I hope you enjoy your summer reading 🙂 This summer I am taking part in the 10 Books of Summer challenge.

    Like

  4. The Paperback Princess
    June 23, 2016

    Those are excellent choices. Summer is always a good time to hang out with Anne. Middlemarch is wonderful! I’m glad you will get to read with others – sometimes you want that support when you’re tackling such a beast. And I second what Naomi said – prepare to cry when you read The Light Between the Oceans!
    Good luck! And congrats on the new job!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 23, 2016

      Thank you! I can’t wait to get started on Middlemarch, although I find the length a bit intimidating. So I’ll download the e-book and maybe it won’t seem so long.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. jennielyse
    June 23, 2016

    The read-along for Middlemarch sounds fun. I joined my current IRL book club just after they finished reading it for the summer. I don’t know if I can commit to a read-along right now, though. Reading has kind of taken a backseat in my life right now.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 23, 2016

      Whatever you do, I hope you enjoy your summer until the right book comes along.

      Like

  6. Brian Joseph
    June 24, 2016

    I really look forward to reading your thoughts on Middlemarch.

    I read it myself a recently and loved it.

    My wife read The Light Between Oceans and also loved it so it sounds like you have some great reading ahead this summer.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 24, 2016

      Oh, I must have missed your posts. I’ll check your blog because I’d love to hear your thoughts.

      Like

  7. Hooray for Anne! I hope your son will enjoy you reading together – a wonderful suggestion.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 24, 2016

      He’s asked me about why there are so many orphans in children’s stories and I told him Anne is popular because she’s very independent and courageous. I’ll get the book this weekend, so we’ll see how he reacts.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. ebookclassics
    June 24, 2016

    Hey friends, I updated the post to include the read-along of Cecilia by Frances Burney that I’m also joining. Check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. lauratfrey
    June 24, 2016

    I am super jealous that you get to read Anne with your kids. I read it for the first time not long ago, and I loved it. We might do Harry Potter pretty soon though, and I’ve never read it, so that would be exciting. We have three chapters to go in The Secret Garden which we’ve started and stopped so many times! I’m excited for it to end, it’s super wordy (and racist and ableist so… yeah)

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 24, 2016

      Wow, a lot of people seem to be reading The Secret Garden lately. Am I missing something? I’m really not sure how Anne of Green Gables is going to go over with him, but I’ll try. If anything, I look forward to re-reading the book.

      Like

  10. Melinda
    July 15, 2016

    I hope you enjoy The Light Between Oceans! I sure did. I’m not jealous about you having summer AT ALL. I love winter season (we’re in winter on my side of the world).

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 5, 2016

      My apologies for responding so late. I hope you have been well and are reading lots of good books. I’ll catch up with your blog soon.

      Like

  11. dbmoviesblog
    July 27, 2016

    Wow, great suggestions. I will read all three of the books this summer, I am also looking forward to the movie adaptation of “Light Between Oceans”.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 5, 2016

      My apologies for the late reply. Did you end up reading the three books this summer? As you will see from my latest post, I didn’t meet all of my summer reading goals.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on June 23, 2016 by in Reviews and tagged , , , , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

