ebookclassics

#AliasGrace2016 – Announcement Post

aliasgraceAre you looking for the perfect Fall book to read? Next month I’m hosting a read-along of one of Margaret Atwood’s most popular novels, Alias Grace. This historical novel was published in 1996 and is based on the real 1843 murder of Thomas Kinnear and his housekeeper, Nancy Montgomery. Two servants in the household, Grace Marks and James McDermott were convicted of the crime. McDermott was hanged and Marks was sentenced to life in prison, but exonerated after 30 years. For decades there has been much controversy over this Canadian crime about who actually committed the act and the motivation behind it. Even Margaret Atwood has said she’s changed her mind over the years about what really happened.

alias-graceAlias Grace has been on my radar for a few months ever since I read The Prison Book Club by Ann Walmsley. It’s a fascinating account of a book club the author participated in at Collins Bay Institution near Kingston, Ontario. The novel was a favourite of the inmates and the murder the subject of much analysis.

In addition, Netflix and CBC Canada announced early in the summer that a six-part adaptation of the novel is being produced for airing in 2017. Canadian actress/director, Sarah Polley (Away From Her) is leading the production and will direct. Actresses Anna Paquin (X-Men, True Blood) and Sarah Gadon (11.22.63, Cosmopolis) have been confirmed to star in the series.

The read-along will take places Saturday, October 1st to Saturday, November 6th. There are no hard and fast rules or a chapter schedule. Just read at your own pace and join me each week for a check-in and discussion.

Please sign-up using the linky below and spread the word using the hashtag #AliasGrace2016. Let’s see who you think was the murderer!

14 comments on “#AliasGrace2016 – Announcement Post

  1. Naomi
    September 6, 2016

    I’ve been wanting to re-read this book for a long time now. I’m in!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 6, 2016

      Whoo hoo! So happy to have you along with me. Can’t wait to catch up on all your summer reading too.

      Like

      • Naomi
        September 6, 2016

        Do I sign up by just linking to my blog?

        Like

  2. Alias Grace is a fantastic book. I read it as part of a readalong a couple of years ago. There is much material for disussion there — the Prison Book Club sounds fascinating too!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 10, 2016

      I’ve thought about using the books that the inmates read in The Prison Book Club as a reading list. Besides Alias Grace they read The Zookeeper’s Wife, The Guernsey Potato Pie Society, The Glass Castle… Lots of good books I haven’t read yet.

      Like

      • Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
        September 10, 2016

        I’ve read the first two – The Zookeeper’s wife was good but I’m not a big Potato Pie fan. Still, it is a good list to follow!

        Like

  3. tanya
    September 9, 2016

    This is perhaps my favorite of all of Atwood’s books. So great and I can’t wait to see the film adaptation. Good luck with the Read-a-Long. I won’t be taking part as I’m dedicating myself to free range reading this fall. But I know it will be fun.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 10, 2016

      Thank you! I’ve been trying to do more free range reading, but I always get so excited about read-alongs. Hope you’re enjoying the books you have on the go.

      Like

  4. buriedinprint
    September 12, 2016

    What an excellent idea! I’ve just reread this one recently, so I’m not sure about joining in, but I’ll jot down the dates just in case. It’s one of my favourites among her books and there is a lot to discuss, so it’ll be a good event for sure!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 12, 2016

      Did you notice anything different rereading the book? Please feel free to chime in with any thoughts during our discussion. Your comments are most welcome.

      Like

  5. Whitney
    September 24, 2016

    I have had Alias Grace on my list for a while now and this is the perfect time of year for it. I really like the flexability of your read-along and just signed up. Although, my url showed up in the linky instead of a name, but the address still works. I’ll post about this on my weekly wrap-up on Sunday too — thanks for hosting!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 24, 2016

      Thanks so much for joining! The read-along will be pretty casual. I can’t wait to discuss the book with you.

      Like

  6. Pingback: October #BookBlogger Events – Girlxoxo.com

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2016 by in Reviews and tagged , , , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

