ebookclassics

2016 Book Blogger Discussion Challenge – Skipping Pages

2016-Discussion-Challenge

Hello blogger friends! My discussion question this month is have you ever skipped pages or parts of a book? For whatever reason, whether the part was boring or silly or you wanted to move on ahead to find out what happened next. And if you did skip, do you still count that as reading the whole book?

I frequently skip pages in books, especially poems and songs (Hobbits, anyone?) because I find them tedious. I also have skipped conversations that went on for too long and didn’t seem to contribute to the plot. If I’ve read 95% of the book, I consider that a book read in full, but I would love to know if you disagree. Let’s discuss!

Check out this month’s discussion posts or contribute your own discussion post on Feed Your Fiction Addiction or It Starts at Midnight.

27 comments on “2016 Book Blogger Discussion Challenge – Skipping Pages

  1. Katherine Koba
    September 18, 2016

    Life’s too short not to skip, IMO. I’m not afraid to DNF books now (I used to be a die-hard completionist), but if I overall like a book but it has some tough bits, I will definitely skip or skim. LotR is a good example, or Possession.

    Like

    • Risa
      September 19, 2016

      Ha ha! I was thinking LotR too! I skipped a major portion of Sam and Frodo’s journey through Mordor in The Two Towers. But yeah..I consider this book read and it ranks among my favourites as well!! =)

      Like

      • ebookclassics
        September 20, 2016

        I also think of LoTR and the Hobbit when it comes to this topic. I’ve read Possession, but I don’t remember any poetry. Probably means I skipped it!

        Like

  2. ebookclassics
    September 18, 2016

    Agreed! There’s not enough time and too many good books out there. I don’t feel bad about skipping, but I still feel guilty DNFing sometimes.

    Like

  3. Naomi
    September 19, 2016

    I so rarely skip pages – I’m too afraid that I’m going to miss something. If I find myself skipping, it probably means that I’ll eventually stop reading the book. In my opinion, skipping songs and poems doesn’t count (like the ones in The Hobbit and I skipped some of the ones in Roughing It in the Bush). Recently, I read the first 50 pages of a book, wasn’t into it, but wanted to know how it ended, so I skimmed the rest of it and read the last chapter. I don’t consider that book read. But I would count a book that was only 5% skimmed, for sure!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 20, 2016

      I skipped the songs in Roughing It In the Bush too. I think I read through the first one. I often read 50-70 pages of a book and then DNF it, but it never occurred to me to skip to the end to see what happens!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
    September 19, 2016

    I think 95% would count, and skipping a few poems is fine (unless perhaps they form an important part of the story, as in Possession). If I skip whole chapters, which I sometimes do to get to the end and just find out how the book turned out, I don’t count that as reading the book, though.

    I sometimes wonder about collections of essays and lectures and such. I often read most of the book but skip some parts that I’m not so interested in. (A recent example is The View from the Cheap Seats by Neil Gaiman – I did not read every single piece about comics and SF and such.) If I don’t count it as read, I don’t have any record that I did actually read and enjoy most of it. Is a “partly read” category needed?

    I used to be more judgemental about myself not finishing books, but now I don’t mind so much. Life is too short.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 20, 2016

      I think with short story or essay collections it’s okay to skip especially if there are topics or stories you aren’t interested in.

      Like

  5. Risa
    September 19, 2016

    I don’t think I’ve given this much thought. Now thinking about it, though, I have very mixed thoughts on this. I skipped quite a bit of TTT where Sam and Frodo journey through Mordor because I found it a dead bore. Yet I consider this book read and favourited! Then, there is The Far Pavilions by M.M.Kaye (a book over a 1000 pages long): I read 3/4th of it, and then skipped to the end. In my mind, I haven’t completed it, though. Then there’s Wuthering Heights…I’ve read the book piecemeal, and have skipped quite a bit in between, but I consider it read. It was enough for me to know I hated it.

    Hmmm…I’m beginning to see a trend here. I think, if I have grasped the essence and whole story of a book in spite of having skipped pages, then I consider it read. If I sense I haven’t got the entire story…there are holes in the plot for having skipped pages, then I consider it unread.

    There! Problem solved. 😀

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 20, 2016

      I still haven’t read Wuthering Heights, but I will try not to skip too much .. or is it that bad? I agree that grasping the essence of the book is important. I feel that a lot of non-fiction, particularly self-help books, are repetitive and you can skip, but still comprehend the subject.

      Like

      • Risa
        September 21, 2016

        Most people love it. So don’t go by what I say. 🙂

        Like

  6. Arenel
    September 19, 2016

    I remember skipping all the war scenes in War and Peace, impatient to get to the relationship parts )) Although my grandfather, who was interested in history, said they were amazingly precise and he liked to re-read them with maps etc. People are indeed different)

    I don’t think it’s bad to skip pages if you still get the idea what’s happening. I do it with Shakespeare’s comedies too. I’m like “OK… outdated bunter, outdated bunter, more of that… oh, here’s something happening again” 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 20, 2016

      Shakespeare is so hard. I have avoided reading his plays because I know it will be an uphill battle for me. I have to admit I enjoyed some of the war scenes and military strategy in War and Peace, but agree those sections were unnecessarily long.

      Like

  7. jennielyse
    September 19, 2016

    Oh my gosh, yes! I hated Tom Bombadill!!! I always skipped his songs and yes, I still count it as read. Although, if I skip multiple pages, then I started having a harder time counting that. So, I take it case by case.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 20, 2016

      Some books are definitely more painful than others, so taking it case by case totally makes sense.

      Like

  8. I almost never skip in books. I worry that I’m missing something important if I even skip a single sentence lol. But the exception is poems and song lyrics, like you mentioned. If they don’t seem like they’re actually important to the story, I do sometimes skip those.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 24, 2016

      It seems like no one wants to read poems or songs, lol! I wonder why so many authors like to include them. I guess they believe poetry adds something to the story.

      Like

      • vendija723
        September 25, 2016

        My kids and I were recently listening to Guardians of Ga’Hoole on CD, and the songs and poetry were excruciating!

        Like

  9. vendija723
    September 25, 2016

    I have a “skimmed” shelf on GR to differentiate those books from DNF and read books. It’s usually nonfiction that I went into looking for specific info (professional reading) or essays, like Lory was talking about above. When reading fiction, I sometimes gloss over lengthly descriptions, Tolkeinesque poetry, etc. in my rush to find out what happens next. It’s not even intentional. I definitely count those as read though, because if I skim over something that results in confusion, I go back and re-read. If it doesn’t result in confusion, then I still got enough of the story to call it “read.”

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 28, 2016

      That sounds like a good system to me. I’ll definitely go back and re-read parts if I find myself getting muddled or confused about what’s going on.

      Like

  10. I don’t ever skip full pages, but I definitely skim sometimes if I’m finding a scene boring. If I miss something important, I might go back and reread it. I try to keep the skimming to a minimum, but if I’m really not enjoying it, I might do it more!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 1, 2016

      I think we all have one eye on our book piles while we read, so I know I definitely will skip over a boring scene thinking about the time it would save me.

      Like

  11. DoingDewey
    October 1, 2016

    I can’t imagine actually skipping a section and I rarely skim. I also don’t abandon books very often. I should, perhaps, do both more. There really are too many books and too little time!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 1, 2016

      You’re so good not skip and abandon books! Especially when I’m sure your TBR is really high. I wonder what authors think about readers skipping sections.

      Like

  12. ebookclassics
    October 3, 2016

    “Skipping parts of a narrative should be encouraged, particularly if an author is writing without clarity of purpose or showing off.” Anna Holmes talks about skipping in a recent NYT article .

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2016 by in Reviews and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

