ebookclassics

Bookish Tatiana Maslany

orphanblackLast weekend was big for #CloneClub because actress Tatiana Maslany won the Emmy for Best Actress for playing multiple characters on Orphan Black. She’s won other awards, but I felt the Emmy somehow made up for all the times Tatiana was ignored. Although I’ve been known to roll my eyes when they introduce yet another clone on Orphan Black, I often forget that’s it Tatiana playing all of them. She’s truly able to make each clone distinguishable and unique.

tatianamaslanyWhile Orphan Black is not based on a book or comic, Tatiana has appeared in a number of book to movie adaptations over the years, including:

The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood – Adapted in 2007 as a made for TV movie starring Mary-Louise Parker and Wendy Crewson about a woman who steals the lovers of her friends, but what truly happens and who all of the characters claim to be is shrouded in mystery and deception. Tatiana plays August, the daughter of one of the women.

The Vow (2012) based on the memoir by Kim and Krickitt Carpenter and staring Channing Tatum and Rachel McAdams. The story is about a marriage that’s torn apart when the wife can’t remember her husband and the love they share following a car accident. Tatiana plays Channing Tatum’s friend and they had such good chemistry, I actually thought they were going to hook up. Sorry, Channing does not dance in this movie.

The Lady in Gold: The Extraordinary Tale of Gustav Klimt’s Masterpiece by Anne-Marie O’Connor and renamed The Woman In Gold (2015). The movie stars Helen Mirren and Ryan Reynolds and is based on the true story of Marie Altmann who in her old age goes to court to reclaim a painting of her aunt that was stolen by the Nazis during World War II. Tatiana plays the younger version of Marie Altmann. I actually started reading this book, but wasn’t in the mood and put it aside.

World Without End by Ken Follett is the sequel to the author’s first book in the series, The Pillars of the Earth. Adapted into an eight episode series, the sequel picks up 150 years afterwards and follows the people of Kingsbridge at the start of the Hundred Years’ War. Tatiana plays Sister Mair, a nun who becomes the travel companion of one of the book’s central characters. tatianatom

Fun fact: Tatiana met her current partner, Tom Cullen, filming World Without End. You may know Tom best as Lord Gillingham who spent many a season wooing Mary Crawley on Downton Abbey.

Have you read these books or seen the movie adaptations? Are you a fan of Orphan Black?he

10 comments on “Bookish Tatiana Maslany

  1. lauratfrey
    September 24, 2016

    I just listened to her on the Comedy Bang Bang podcast. She was pretty funny! I didn’t know who she was before yesterday.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 28, 2016

      You’re so good with all the podcasts. I’ve just started listening to them again. What else are you listening to?

      Like

  2. Naomi
    September 25, 2016

    Like Laura, I didn’t know who this person was until today. But, you’re not surprised about that, are you? One thing I love about this feature is that I always feel a little bit more in the loop about movies and actors after I read it. 🙂
    When I saw The Vow, I had no idea it was based on a memoir. That makes it even more sad! I felt so sad for her husband!
    I haven’t seen any of these other movies, but I have read The Robber Bride, Pillars of the Earth and World Without End. But, why can’t I remember the nun? I guess it was a while ago…

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 28, 2016

      I don’t think many people know her at all unless they’re watching the show. The Vow really is a tragic story since it’s true. But at least there was a happy ending!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Julie
    September 26, 2016

    I love Orphan Black! I had no idea that Tatiana was in these other movies. She is in a movie that premiered at the Cannes 2016 Film Festival called Two Lovers and a Bear that was filmed in Nunavut. I would like to see that one. I hope that every time the introduce a new clone she gets a pay raise. After all, if they were separate characters, they would have to pay another salary. I didn’t know she was in a world without end. I am going to have to rewatch that.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 28, 2016

      I had no idea you were watching Orphan Black or I would have talked your head off ages ago. I really hope they don’t introduce another clone, we have plenty.

      I don’t think I’ll be reading the Pillars of the Earth series, but I’m interested in watching the TV version.

      Like

  4. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    September 27, 2016

    Like a commenter above, I’m more familiar with Tatiana from her appearances on the Comedy Bang Bang podcast – she’s so much fun in those, it makes me want to check out Orphan Black. I didn’t even realize she’s been acting for some time now – somehow I just figured Orphan Black was one of her first jobs! These films sound amazing though, I’m especially interested in The Lady/Woman in Gold (yay Helen Mirren!)

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 28, 2016

      Everybody please tell me more about this Comedy Bang Bang podcast. I’m obviously missing out on something good. You’ll need some patience with Orphan Black’s storyline, but the characters really grow on you.

      I agree, Helen Mirren is a great actress.

      Like

  5. buriedinprint
    September 29, 2016

    I’ve only watched about half of the first season and I got a little frustrated with the sense of being tugged around with making her smarter or not-so-smart to keep the tension in the episodes; do the later seasons have a reputation for being even stronger? I might try again. Otherwise, I’ve read The Robber Bride, but I never saw the adaptation, although I can imagine she would have made a great August!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 1, 2016

      The character has definitely made a lot of dumb decisions in the show. I’ve lost my patience with the story numerous times, but have stuck it out and still enjoy the show.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Now reading

and …

and …

