ebookclassics

Fall #Readathon 2016

deweysHello friends! Fall #Readathon has arrived and I’m determined to make up for the disappointing 302 pages I read last time. Check this master post for all of my reading updates and follow me on Twitter, Litsy and Instagram where I will be experimenting with Instagram stories and trying to document my 24 hours.

Now for the books …

authorityAuthority by Jeff Vandermeer – The second book in the Southern Reach trilogy, I’m dying to know where things pick up 30 years after the last book ended with many questions unanswered. I understand this book focuses on the bureaucracy that sent the last mission into Area X, so we’ll see if this book is just as tense and suspenseful.

Time  On page Thoughts
3:00 p.m. Overdrive is saying page 586 but
that’s impossible
Getting to know the main character,
Control and trying to figure out
what’s going on

undergroundrailroadThe Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead – The hype around this book is HUGE and it will surely win many awards. While I’m enjoying it, I can’t help comparing the central female character to Aminata from The Book of Negroes/Someone Knows My Name by Lawrence Hill. Aminata was awesome; Cora … yet to be determined. Extra #Readathon motivation: This is due back at the library and I can’t renew it!

Time On page Thoughts
11:25 a.m. EST 114 Between making breakfast, walking dogs and running to piano lessons, I haven’t read much. But the afternoon is clear. The book is going in an interesting direction, so let’s see …
3:00 PM 191 On Twitter I said this book was okay, but there have
been some turns in the story that have caught my
attention. The lack of freedom the characters suffered is unimaginable.
2:0AM Finished My first finished book! A very good story,
but it didn’t blow me away.

greattalespoeGreat Tales and Poems by Edgar Allan Poe – Remember back in December when I joined the Back to the Classics challenge? Yah, I completely forgot about it too! Back then I pledged to read this great American poet and writer for the first time, and Fall/Halloween is the perfect time of year to read classics such as The Raven and The Tell-Tale Heart.

Time On page Thoughts
3:00 AM I read 94 pages I read The Raven, A Tell-Tale Heart,
The Black Cat and started The Purloined
Letter, but it was making me sleepy.

infernotomhanksInferno by Dan Brown – Nothing like characters on the run and making miraculous escapes from nefarious villains in gorgeous European settings (yet again) to keep a reader awake during the early hours. My affection for Robert Langdon probably has more to do with Tom Hanks than anything. He is my favourite actor and I get gooey inside when I see him on the screen. Sorry, TMI.

Time On page Thoughts
3:30 AM 604 As usual, Robert Langdon is on the run and looking at historical Italian art.

alias-graceAlias Grace by Margaret Atwood – Catching up on the #AliasGrace2016 read-along.

Didn’t happen!

Happy #Readathon! Tell me about your #Readathon stack or reading strategy.

16 comments on “Fall #Readathon 2016

  1. Arenel
    October 22, 2016

    I like how you mix up serious and non serious reads, and also have some tales and poems to do!) Good strategic thinking!) Hope you have tons of fun during the readathon!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 23, 2016

      Thank you! I hope you’re enjoying the readathon too. I have to say The Underground Railroad covered serious subjects, but the author kept the tone light and it was an easy book to read.

      Like

  2. lauratfrey
    October 22, 2016

    I’m in love with this master post! I’m so not organized…

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 23, 2016

      I was off yesterday and actually had time to do some pre-readathon planning. For previous events, I was just winging it.

      Like

  3. Whitney
    October 22, 2016

    I have to ditto your master post — I love hor organized it is. Have fun today.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 23, 2016

      Thank you! I can’t figure out how to resize the table, but oh well. I hope you’re having a great readathon too.

      Like

  4. Brian Joseph
    October 22, 2016

    You have picked a bunch of interesting books for the Readathon.

    I am curious what you think about Authority. I found that it was mostly not an atmospheric pice of psychological horror that the first book was. With that, I thought it was a very creative and worthwhile story in its own right.

    Have fun with the Readathon!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 23, 2016

      I didn’t get very far in Authority and probably won’t read it again for few days. The pace feels different and I miss how the biologist’s narration was so focused and clear in the first book. With this book, Control is very muddled and I have a hard time following his thoughts.

      Like

  5. Naomi
    October 22, 2016

    Catching up on Alias Grace is what I need to do. Have fun today!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 23, 2016

      I think I’m behind too. My plan is to read Alias Grace in the morning to finish off the readathon.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lindsey Stefan
    October 22, 2016

    The Underground Railroad is on my list today too, but I’m not sure if I’m going to get to it.

    Keep up the awesome reading!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 23, 2016

      The book was very good. It didn’t blow me away, but I understand why it’s on all of the award short lists. Hope you having a great readathon too!

      Like

  7. jennielyse
    October 23, 2016

    I’m glad you finished a book and got so many pages read! I did finish a book, but I only read 173 pages. Oh well. It was still fun.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 10, 2016

      I only read about that many pages during the last readathon. Too much time on social media! I really loved that you had a bubble bath. Why haven’t I thought of doing that?

      Like

  8. buriedinprint
    October 26, 2016

    Oooh, I love all the little time/content charts. How did you do that?! I missed the RAT this year, but I hope to take part again next year (Saturdays aren’t what they once were for me) and your kind of mix-it-up stack would be perfect for me! (My copy of TUR is almost due at the library too: must. get. busy.)

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 10, 2016

      I’ve wanted to use tables in WordPress for ages. There may be better ways of doing it (I haven’t had time to research), but I used the code from this article and modified the headings. The problem was I couldn’t figure out how to resize the columns, they were doing it automatically, but I just let it go.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Now reading

and …

and …

