ebookclassics

2016 Book Blogger Discussion – Has Book Blogging Reached Its Peak?

2016-Discussion-Challenge

On a recent Book Riot podcast, based on the recent news that Book Expo (no longer Book Expo America) was limiting blogger participation, the hosts began a discussion about whether this was a sign book blogging has reached its peak (and maybe usefulness to the publishing industry, but that’s another discussion).

Since there are now thousands of us out there, it does make me curious about the future of book blogging. Will it survive? Will it move to another platform? Will it still be fun? Will bloggers still be able to make meaningful connections? Besides sharing my thoughts on books, building relationships I realize are important to me and it’s not easy since there’s a lot of content to get through to reach the person behind the blog.

How about you? Tell me what you I think.

21 comments on “2016 Book Blogger Discussion – Has Book Blogging Reached Its Peak?

  1. citygirlscapes & bookreviews
    November 11, 2016

    That’s an interesting thought…. I think there will always be a place for book bloggers and more importantly, that conversation. As publicity goes, spreading the word and awareness is priority and I think Book Bloggers will still play such an important role in helping spread that word. I could see the VIP experience as a book blogger might decrease a little bit, as we are no longer a rare commodity. But as long as there’s still books and good conversation about books, I can’t see any of us going anywhere.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2016

      My apologies for the delay in responding! I started a new job (my third in 18 months, so hopefully third time’s the charm) and have been so busy.

      I agree that bloggers will still play a role in creating awareness of books publishers want to promote. Blogs and social media make it so easy to say how much you liked a book.

      Like

      • citygirlscapes & bookreviews
        November 26, 2016

        Congrats on the new job! Hope it is good to you. No worries, I just started a new job too so I know what it’s like. Cheers; ashley

        Like

  2. Naomi
    November 11, 2016

    I think that as long as book bloggers are enjoying what they do (since that’s the reason most of us started blogging in the first place – for fun), there isn’t any reason to think we’re going anywhere. More than anything, I love the connections I’ve made. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2016

      Blogging has definitely been a great experience for me too in terms of making connections. I don’t interact a lot of Twitter, but that can be fun too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Brona
    November 12, 2016

    I love the community & diversity of book bloggers. Most seem to read & blog for fun and for their own personal journaling of books read. I think that will always be the case. With or without publisher incentives.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2016

      I agree that a blogger’s passion for books will outlive anything publishers do or say.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. lauratfrey
    November 13, 2016

    I will give the podcast a listen and come back with some more intelligent comments (well, hopefully!) But off the top of my head? Yeah, i think the book blogger ship has sailed. I think of my blog as a personal blog, really… i didn’t know what a “book blog” was when i started and I’m kind of trying to reconnect with that… and apart from the bloggers I’ve followed for a long time, I’m going elsewhere for book stuff lately, podcasts and YouTube and literary journals. Even bookstagram is bigger than book blogs! I’m still here though 😊

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2016

      It’s great that you follow all of those different types of book media. I wish I had more time to explore literary journals and Booktubers. I’ve thought about moving away from the blog and trying something different, but don’t think that’s going to happen.

      Like

  5. buriedinprint
    November 17, 2016

    I think it’s like any other kind of relationship, if either party stops investing time and energy into it, it falters. Some folks have settled into a tired-n-worn marriage, it seems, expecting all sorts of free stuff and promotional goodies without reading and reflecting on the published books and, on the other side, turning to bulk mailings and blitz-style marketing instead of working on individual relationships. Maybe it’s bound to get rocky for a spell!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2016

      I’ve always wondered what exactly is the publishers’ strategy other than sending out ARCs and hoping to get some traction in the blogger community. They must spend a lot of money printing books, but have little ability to calculate how links back to sales.

      Like

  6. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    November 18, 2016

    This is an interesting discussion! I do feel like my blog is not so much a book blog anymore, and that makes me a little sad. I liked identifying myself foremost with that community. But my instagram for instance feels more like a bookish community than my blog does, so maybe there is something to the idea of book blogs moving into a different kind of identity. I think the community will always be there, because it’s so much fun to find readers who like the same books you do, but it might be on different platforms.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2016

      The Instagram book community is pretty amazing and I have thought of moving over there, but I don’t have time to create beauty shots of my book and I’m reading on my phone 50% of the time which doesn’t look pretty at all.

      I enjoy your blog for the very reason that you talk about what you’re doing and into, whether it’s books or movies or your travels. I think all of our blogs have evolved in different ways that may be far from where we started. I’m ebookclassics and I’ve barely read any classics this year!

      Like

  7. DoingDewey
    November 18, 2016

    I’m with citygirlscapes. Publishers might get over book blogs, but I don’t think book bloggers will 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2016

      “Publishers might get over book blogs, but I don’t think book bloggers will” is the perfect way of summing it up. Thanks Katie!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I think I agree with many of the other commenters—seems like book blogging is only going out of style if WE decide we’re done with it. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love getting books from publishers, but the connections with other bloggers is always what I’ve loved the most!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2016

      I enjoy getting free books too, but I’ve slowed it down because I was putting a priority on reading and reviewing them. I felt an obligation to the publisher especially if I was friendly with the marketing contact. It was distracting me from getting to the books I truly wanted to read and talk about with bloggers which brings us back to our discussion about making meaningful connections.

      Like

  9. tanya
    November 20, 2016

    I don’t know if book blogging has peaked, but I have peaked as a book blogger. That being said, the first place I turn to when I’m wondering about a book is my coterie of trusted bloggers. But in a way, I think we are preaching to the choir. It’s a great outlet for discussion but i think we are mostly talking to people who read the same types of books and already know what we like and what we will read.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2016

      Wow. You have described exactly how I’ve been feeling. It’s why I keep thinking about whether to keep blogging year after year. But we all agree the connections are important to us and my fear is that if I walked away from this blog, I will lose those friendships. I have to maintain the blog to maintain the friendships. Does that make sense?

      Like

      • Naomi
        November 26, 2016

        What you’ve just said is so true! Right now I have no interest in abandoning my blog, but it I ever did, I think it would be hard to do because of all the friendships I’ve made through it. How to keep them up?!

        Like

  10. Pingback: 25 Things This Week – Girlxoxo.com

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2016 by in Reviews and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

