ebookclassics

#AliasGrace2016 – Ridiculously Late Wrap-Up

_aliasgrace-2016

So! Where did we leave off, lol! My apologies to those of you who were participating at my inability to keep up with my own read-along. At this stage, you’ve probably moved on to other books and left Grace Marks far behind. I know I have, so consider this my wrap-up post.

You might remember in my initial posts I was obsessed with trying to figure out whether Grace Marks was guilty or not. I realized half-way through the book that it didn’t matter. Exploring whether Grace Marks killed Thomas Kinnear and Nancy Montgomery wasn’t Margaret Atwood’s objective. Instead she takes contradictory newspaper reports, interviews and court documents, and weaves it together with what little was known about Grace to present a mystery where nothing is solved and questions remain unanswered. Most of all she makes an intriguing case for how perception is through the eye of the beholder and the truth can be lost as a result.

Often imitated, never duplicated, Margaret Atwood truly is an iconic writer and storyteller. I admired how her intelligence, cleverness and humour is imbued in Alias Grace and I’m inspired to read more of her work. How about you?

4.5 Stars

Thanks and best wishes to all of you during the holidays. Hope you read lots of good books!

9 comments on “#AliasGrace2016 – Ridiculously Late Wrap-Up

  1. Naomi
    December 16, 2016

    Thanks for hosting this, C.J.! I have really been wanting to re-read this book, and now I have. I loved it just as much the second time through!

    Like

  2. When I reread this book a while ago it also made me want to read more Margaret Atwood. But I haven’t followed up on that resolution. Maybe next year?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 19, 2016

      I’ve been really slow getting around to Margaret Atwood’s books too. Let’s aim to read more next year! Take care and happy holidays!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Brian Joseph
    December 19, 2016

    This sounds like it is such a good book. Based on your commentary it sounds very original. I love Margaret Atwood and I have no doubt that I would like this.

    Happy holidays to you and your family CJ.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 19, 2016

      Brian, I think you would enjoy a cozy, yet intelligent book to read. Happy holidays and all the best to you and your family!

      Like

  4. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    December 21, 2016

    I got stuck once again, about halfway through the book, for no apparent reason whatsoever. But today, I’ll renew my library loan one more time, and then I hope to finally, FINALLY finish this book over Christmas. 🙂 Have a good holiday season!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ebookclassics
      December 23, 2016

      I have this same problem with library books. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts when you finish the book.

      Wishing you and your family all the best for the holidays!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2016 by in Reviews and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

